PDA

View Full Version : Source foir HP-UX v 9



Chuckster_in_Jax
January 10th, 2011, 09:29 AM
Does anyone know of a source for HP-UX version 9? Version 10 and 11 can easily be found, but none of the earlier versions.

I have a couple of HP Series 300 and Series 200 computers I would like to install HP-UX on and can't find resources anywhere.

Chuck

xmechanic
January 12th, 2011, 07:06 PM
Have you tried E-bay? That's where I got my HPUX 11.11 for my J6750 workstation.:wink: You may need to check every couple days for several weeks, but I've found a lot of oddball software like that up for sale there. (Maybe Craigslist also)

Chuckster_in_Jax
January 12th, 2011, 08:05 PM
Have you tried E-bay? That's where I got my HPUX 11.11 for my J6750 workstation.:wink: You may need to check every couple days for several weeks, but I've found a lot of oddball software like that up for sale there. (Maybe Craigslist also)

I think I may have found Version 9. HP-UX ver. 11 is easily found. Anything before that is rare. Also have to be careful because versions with an even number such as 9.0 were made for servers. Odd numbered versions are for workstations (which I am looking for).

HP 9000 Series 300 computers will only work with HP-UX v9 or older.

BTW xmechanic, that J6750 is one nice pooter!

saundby
January 12th, 2011, 10:12 PM
You also have to get the bits for either 68K or PA-RISC.

If you can't turn it up, let me know. I should have 9.03, 9.05, and possibly 9.07 on DDS media. I seem to have misplaced 9.10, though (9.10 runs on series 300/400 in spite of the numbering. It was a post 10.0 release for the 68K platform that was intended to be "more compatible' with 10, hence the number.)

Chuckster_in_Jax
January 13th, 2011, 08:57 AM
You also have to get the bits for either 68K or PA-RISC.

If you can't turn it up, let me know. I should have 9.03, 9.05, and possibly 9.07 on DDS media. I seem to have misplaced 9.10, though (9.10 runs on series 300/400 in spite of the numbering. It was a post 10.0 release for the 68K platform that was intended to be "more compatible' with 10, hence the number.)

Thanks for the offer. Let me see what I get.

I have a model 382 that uses the Motorola 68000 processor that I'll get running first. It has SCSI built in. I also have a 9000/370 with HP-UX ver 7 installed. It didn't come with the OS, so if the hard drive crashes, I don't have a way to reinstall the OS.

leaknoil
January 18th, 2011, 12:26 PM
Not to hijack the thread but, I just picked up a 9000/822s I need an OS for. 10.10 on dds would be ideal though it might be too much for this machine. It only has a 25Mhz cpu and 40mb of ram in it. Its really cool looking though.

Does anyone know if these can boot a SCSI CDROM ? I have a SCSI card but, so far it just hangs if I try and tell it to boot from it.

5097

Chuckster_in_Jax
January 18th, 2011, 08:00 PM
Don't know anything about the 800 series except they seem to be rare.

Can't remember where I got this HP-UX Support matrix file, but it may help.

NeXT
January 18th, 2011, 09:09 PM
Last I heard, HP was not loosening their grip on letting small fry easily get hold of HP-UX.

leaknoil
January 18th, 2011, 09:27 PM
You know the worst thing is I had all the Cds. Last month I was cleaning my office. I dumped a giant box of old original hpux cds out. I just kept what I thought I would need. I had no idea I would need 10.10. I threw out several copies and kept the 10.20 ones. I had many 9.x release cds and all the doc cds etc. I kept all the 11.x stuff. Rest in the trash. It never fails. As soon as I toss something I need it. Its very odd.

leaknoil
January 18th, 2011, 09:30 PM
Don't know anything about the 800 series except they seem to be rare.

Best thing about this system is it ran in a tea factory. Its more air freshener than computer. I blew it out with a compressor. Still, the second I turn it on nothing but, herbal and floral scents pour out. Really strong too. Maybe I should sell it to a spa or something.

The cpu board is pretty cool looking too. PA-RISC 1.0 NS-2 I think.

5099

gslick
January 19th, 2011, 01:56 PM
You know the worst thing is I had all the Cds. Last month I was cleaning my office. I dumped a giant box of old original hpux cds out. I just kept what I thought I would need. I had no idea I would need 10.10. I threw out several copies and kept the 10.20 ones. I had many 9.x release cds and all the doc cds etc. I kept all the 11.x stuff. Rest in the trash. It never fails. As soon as I toss something I need it. Its very odd.

Bummer to hear that. I'm looking for 9.05 install CD-ROM images for a 712/60. I have original 10.20 install CD-ROM media but have a particular need for 9.05. Or 9.03 would probably do as well.

leaknoil
January 21st, 2011, 12:56 PM
I know where 9.07 is for a 700 if that will work.

leaknoil
January 21st, 2011, 03:11 PM
Turns out the 10.10 limitation only applies to the CIO based early PA-RISC 1.0 machines. The 822S uses HP-PB and works fine with later releases. It also boots fine of CDROM as it turns out.

Starshadow
March 17th, 2011, 09:52 PM
Thanks for the offer. Let me see what I get.

I have a model 382 that uses the Motorola 68000 processor that I'll get running first. It has SCSI built in. I also have a 9000/370 with HP-UX ver 7 installed. It didn't come with the OS, so if the hard drive crashes, I don't have a way to reinstall the OS.

What version was on the 68030 based 300 series I sold you?

Chuckster_in_Jax
March 18th, 2011, 08:02 PM
What version was on the 68030 based 300 series I sold you?

The version of HP-UX is 7.? I have to hook the computer back up to get the specific version and I won't have the time until late next week. It works fine though.
I still haven't fixed that Model 735 yet. It's one of many on a long list.
The HP 9000/300 you sold me must have had HP-UX installed using tape media since it doesn't have a SCSI card.
I have a 9144A drive that needs the pinch roller fixed. Over time they turn gooey. The remedy is to remove the rubber material and replace it with an odd size o-ring which I haven't been able to easily find. There are several materials that O-Rings are made of and I'm not sure which is the best to use in this application. If the material is not pliable enough it can destroy a tape.

Starshadow
March 22nd, 2011, 08:40 PM
It could have been network installed. I do know all I had were two of the workstations, the business they came from also had a server, but someone else wound up with it. I think both machines had Ethernet, but just with aui connectors that required a transceiver to use Cat5.

Juror22
August 12th, 2011, 09:15 PM
Is there anyone out there that was on this thread previously? I have an HP 320 (I think) workstation that is running 7 - I always wanted to upgrade to 9 but could not find anyone withe media. I have HP-UX 7 on tape (not dds, it is the bigger style tapes).

kokoboi
August 16th, 2011, 03:24 PM
qic150 tapes? if they are on that tapes can you upload somewhere the images ?

Juror22
August 16th, 2011, 05:56 PM
They are on 1/4 in (QIC). Tape (16 Track)
P/N 5959-1553 Install
P/N 5960-1524 Install (sealed, unopened)
P/N 98594-10041 HP-UX Bundle 1 of 2
P/N 98594-10042 HP-UX Bundle 2 of 2
one additional tape that contains 68000 cross compilers, debuggers and C Compilers

I would have to get the workstation up on the network again, and if the pinch rollers on my tape drive haven't gone to goo yet...

Juror22
August 18th, 2011, 09:28 PM
One more thing... is there a procedure for making an image file of a tape? I have done all manner of reading files, etc out to tape, but not really the other way 'round.
Any suggestions?

kokoboi
August 19th, 2011, 01:46 AM
i think you should use 'dd' command

Tor
August 19th, 2011, 05:56 AM
Tapes are not straight forward to image. The tape formats (e.g. ANSI tapes, and derivates) often rely on headers and records of different record lengths, and sometimes the record length is part of the tape format definition itself and thus important. Then there are EOF (end-of-file) marks, and sometimes other markers but EOF and EOT (end-of-tape) is what's important. Sometimes EOT is just arbitrarily defined as two EOFs in a row, and sometimes, for multi-volume tapes, all but the last tape in the volume will define EOT as two EOFs and the last tape will use three EOFs. Sometimes EOT is just EOD (end of data, where nothing is written).

If you use the 'dd' command you lose all of that information. When imaging floppies this almost never matters, because the record size is usually fixed - it's the sector size, and there's no physical EOF (sometimes floppies may be written to as tape volumes and then things are slightly different).

When I image tapes I use a simple program I once wrote. When it reads from tape and writes to a file it will write a 4-byte word with the record size, then the record itself. Then another 4 bytes with the size of the next record, and so on. I encode EOF as a 4-byte word with zero. The program can write such files back to tape again, there's enough information in this simple file format to re-create the correct record sizes on the tape, including e.g. the tape label. When it reads from one tape and writes to another it'll handle all of that implicitly, it's a great way of making exact copies of tapes. These days I mostly use it to make images of my old precious tapes.

Then I have additional programs to read these tape copy files and extract content, these programs will of course have to know what format was used on the tape, e.g. ANSI tape, or disk copy or whatever. These tools typically started as tools that could read the tapes themselves, then I just added a part which could use those files as input instead - they contain all the necessary record information after all.

-Tor

Juror22
September 4th, 2011, 08:08 PM
Tor,

Would you be willing to share the program(s) that you developed to make and read the tape copies - it would be easier (and far quicker) to adapt your code to this situation, than writing it from scratch. I was able to get my workstation running today, but I have not checked/tested the tape drive yet. One of my HD's appears to be offline (out of 3 330MB disks). I don't know if this is temporary or not.

- Juror22

Tor
September 5th, 2011, 02:16 AM
What kind of C compiler do you have on your system? I assume your tape drive is connected to the HP-UX 7.1 system? Or can it be connected to something newer? It's been years since I did anything on HP-UX but I remember it as extremely painful in every respect.. so I would think its C compiler is as quirky as well.
With my tape copy program there are two issues:
1) It's written for ANSI C (think GCC or SGI MIPSPro. Hm, I think I added AIX support too.)
2) It needs to know about a few details of the tape drive interface on the system (because 'mt' I/O calls etc. aren't universally standardized).
The tape drive must also support variable sized records. Of course, if it doesn't, then that means that every tape written must be fixed-size records and then it's safe to use 'dd' to read the tape. But ANSI tape formats and derivates all relied on the tape drive to support variable size records.

-Tor

Juror22
September 5th, 2011, 10:46 PM
I have a std (hp) c compiler and you are correct that the tape drive is connected to this (HPUX 7) system. I don't have anything else with an HP-IB interface, although it appears that you can connect it to other devices (there are PCI cards for this connection type, but I don't have them).
1) I used to write, maintain and port c pgms on HP_UX (ANSI, std (hp) c and ProC) so I hope that won't be an issue.
2) I don't know the details yet, but I have found some interesting reading that seems to indicate that they are fixed sized records -> http://www.access-one.com/rjn/computer/hcdvsqic.txt
"16- and 32-track tapes are preformatted by 3M or a 3M
licensee. A full-track factory write head lays down fixed
physical records on the tape. No 16- or 32-track end-user
drive ever writes on these record headers (called "keys");
only in between them. HP "format" and/or "mediainit" user
processes merely "certify", performing read/write tests,
sparing bad blocks and updating logs."

...which would mean that a dd would be able to capture the tape information correctly?
I checked the tape drive today and found that the pinch roller appears to be ok - it felt a little tacky, but not gooey, I will try it with some backup and other tapes that I have, before I attempt anything with the HPUX install tapes.

Chuck(G)
September 5th, 2011, 11:14 PM
I usually call those tapes "Iotamat" (3M's name for them). They were used by a number of vendors (Adic being one). No lights sensing BOT/EOT holes; it's all done with the (pre-recorded) format. The drive interface itself is something primitive, like QIC36.

I keep an Iotamat drive around just in case. The curious thing is that it uses a 6502 microprocessor with a 3M-copyrighted EPROM. I don't know if all Iotamat drives are this way, but it wouldn't surprise me.

If you put a plain old DC600A tape in, the tape will spin for a bit, then error out.

The good news is that you can still find the tapes NOS if you look hard enough. The bad news is that if they're too old, the polyurethane tension band in the cartridge is probably shot.

The pinch roller size isn't terribly critical because the data format is self-clocking. And there are people who will rebuild the roller as good as new if you've a mind to let someone else do it.

Tor
September 6th, 2011, 01:48 AM
...which would mean that a dd would be able to capture the tape information correctly?
I checked the tape drive today and found that the pinch roller appears to be ok - it felt a little tacky, but not gooey, I will try it with some backup and other tapes that I have, before I attempt anything with the HPUX install tapes.
You can try this with 'dd':

dd if=/dev/tape bs=65536 count=1 of=t.1

with /dev/tape substituted with your real drive. What the above does is to attempt reading one record off the tape. If the tape drive supports variable sized records (on most systems this mode can be set with an 'mt' command. An 'mt status' command is usually how you check the current mode) then the file 't.1' will have a size equal to 65536, as long as the actual record size is equal to or smaller than what's specified (you could also use e.g. 32768). If the drive doesn't support variable sized records then the 'dd' command will fail, until you specify the exact right record size with 'bs'.

If I repeat the above command (and use a /dev/ device which is set up to not rewind at close) then I can read out the tape record by record (I just change of=t.1 to of=t.2 of=t.3 and so on). For an ANSI tape I would typically end up with files like this:
t.1 (80 bytes)
t.2 (2048 bytes)
t.3 (2048 bytes)
and so on, until t.n of 0 bytes, which would be EOF. Then another 80-byte record, for the next file.

-Tor

nozomi
September 8th, 2011, 07:49 PM
Hello,

I have cds of 9.04 for series 800. Can make images if anyone needs it.

Tor
September 9th, 2011, 02:34 AM
I just noticed I made an error in my posting - and it's after the time limit for edits! So here's the corrected version (changed section in bold):
--
You can try this with 'dd':

dd if=/dev/tape bs=65536 count=1 of=t.1

with /dev/tape substituted with your real drive. What the above does is to attempt reading one record off the tape. If the tape drive supports variable sized records (on most systems this mode can be set with an 'mt' command. An 'mt status' command is usually how you check the current mode) then the file 't.1' will have a size equal to the actual record size (anything up to, but not above, in this case, 65536), as long as the actual record size is equal to or smaller than what's specified (you could also use e.g. 32768). If the drive doesn't support variable sized records then the 'dd' command will fail, until you specify the exact right record size with 'bs'.

If I repeat the above command (and use a /dev/ device which is set up to not rewind at close) then I can read out the tape record by record (I just change of=t.1 to of=t.2 of=t.3 and so on). For an ANSI tape I would typically end up with files like this:
t.1 (80 bytes)
t.2 (2048 bytes)
t.3 (2048 bytes)
and so on, until t.n of 0 bytes, which would be EOF. Then another 80-byte record, for the next file.
--
-Tor

dr.emiel
July 16th, 2012, 01:55 PM
Does anyone know of a source for HP-UX version 9? Version 10 and 11 can easily be found, but none of the earlier versions.

I have a couple of HP Series 300 and Series 200 computers I would like to install HP-UX on and can't find resources anywhere.

Chuck

May be a bit late, but I do have the images for HP-UX 9.10 for the series 300/400.
If you want them let me know.

-Rik

shutchman
November 12th, 2012, 10:49 AM
Rik,

I need images for HP-UX 9.10. I recently came across an HP382...it has missing SCSI hard disk, i would like to get the machine working. I have external SCSI CD drive from a sun station, will that work for CD install?

Hutch

Juror22
November 18th, 2012, 05:54 PM
I use an old apple external SCSI CD drive for an HP360 that I have. I have also had very good luck using old Sun equipment (no CD drives though) with my HP's so I'm pretty sure that it would work.

Juror22