PDA

View Full Version : Need Help in Repairing AE RAMFactor Card

Drken
February 2nd, 2011, 07:00 AM
I purchased an AE RAMFactor card from someone on eBay, and the card I received is non-functional. It appears that one of the components on the board is fried. I have no idea as to what this component is but would appreciate any help anyone can give me in terms of details so I know what part to order. (If you can't tell, I'm not an electrical engineer by any stretch of the imagination!) Many thanks in advance.

The part fried is circled in red:

The component is approx 5/16" long (sans legs) and consists of two blackish bulbous ends with a narrower center post which looks to be wrapped in a reddish wire. There are two of these, one to the left of the battery, the other (the fried one) upper right of the battery.

deathshadow
February 2nd, 2011, 07:27 AM
Looks like a coil resistor -- unsolder one leg on the surviving one and measure the impedance, you should be able to replace it with a more conventional one.

It could also be a RF crystal coil, but there is no reason for a Ram card to need one much less two of those... oh, and that's a power conditioning capacitor, NOT a "battery"

glitch
February 2nd, 2011, 08:18 AM
That might be a filter choke, instead of a resistor. I'd measure across its end leads (with one desoldered) and see what the resistance is. If it's open or 0 Ohms, it's dead...if not, it's probably just a little scorched. and OK.

RetroHacker_
February 2nd, 2011, 09:37 AM
That is not a resistor, it's an inductor. And it is only in the circuit that goes to the external battery pack, and may not affect operation of the card. It has been a while since I used a RamFactor, but I *think* you need to do something special to use it without the RamCharger (battery pack). What are the symptoms? Will the machine boot with the RamFactor installed?

-Ian

RetroHacker_
February 2nd, 2011, 09:50 AM