PDA

View Full Version : Disabling Floppy Controller on Dell Optiplex G1? ImageDisk



atod
March 11th, 2011, 09:03 AM
Folks,

I'm trying to create an "ImageDisk" system to image my 8" floppy CP/M disks. This system will be using an Adaptec SCSI card with floppy controller built into the card. I need to *disable* the motherboard floppy controller to get this working.

I read the manual for the Dell below (found on Ebay) and it didn't have a jumper to do this. It indicates in BIOS there is an "Integrated Devices" section, where "Diskette Interface" is listed as follows:

* Diskette Interface controls the operation of the system's built-in diskette drive controller. With Auto (the default option) selected, the system turns off the built-in diskette drive controller when necessary to accommodate a controller card installed in an expansion slot. With Write Protect selected, nothing can be written to diskette drives and tape drives using the system's built-in diskette drive controller. (The system can still read from the drives.) When this option is selected, the Auto option (whereby the system turns off the built-in diskette drive controller as necessary) is also in effect. Selecting Off turns off the built-in diskette/tape drive controller; this option is used primarily for troubleshooting purposes.

Does anyone recall if "Turning Off" the built-in diskette drive controller will let me using the one in my Adaptec SCSI card?

Pic of the computer to refresh memory:
http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/2217/kgrhqeokoge1z5hlzqbnevy.th.jpg (http://img823.imageshack.us/i/kgrhqeokoge1z5hlzqbnevy.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

Thanks so much!

Chuck(G)
March 11th, 2011, 09:47 AM
It should, but you'll still need to set the configuration for the floppy drives in the BIOS.

atod
March 11th, 2011, 01:38 PM
Thanks. I hope so. It's beginning to get expensive trying to get this system working. I'm pretty sure I need to build a S-100 bus terminator too. Finding a cheap prototype board should be fun...

Chuck(G)
March 11th, 2011, 02:43 PM
Well, I use a substitute controller (WD1002-FOX-F004) on at least one of my P3 systems and disable the onboard controller in the BIOS; it works just fine. Some 286 and early 386 systems had issues with disabling the onboard controller, but I can't recall details.

MikeS
March 12th, 2011, 11:27 AM
...I'm pretty sure I need to build a S-100 bus terminator too. Finding a cheap prototype board should be fun...Squeezing it into that Dell will be even more fun ;-)

Just curious: Why can't you just use the onboard controller, especially if you're just reading?

And doesn't Andrew N8VEM still have some cheap S100 prototype boards?

atod
March 27th, 2011, 10:32 PM
I'm writing because I have no bootable media.

Andrew is out. I have my name in for a order.