PDA

View Full Version : Ibm at 5170 at ram bank



abpccpba
May 16th, 2011, 11:04 AM
I have a IBM AT 5170 Type 1 mother board and BIOS.
I have a AT RAM BANK ver 7 equal to picture below.

5705

My question in two parts.

Will this Board function in my AT.
If sow what are the dip switch settings.

If you can not answer would you please point me some where.

I want to thank who ever wrote and posted GSETUP Basic, FMAVEN and IBM Advanced Setup ver 207~
If it were not for you I could have never spent three week trying all kinds of stuff to get where I am now.

ABPCCPBA

modem7
May 17th, 2011, 01:57 AM
Will this Board function in my AT.
I also have version 7 of DTK's AT-RAMBANK card. It works okay in my early model 5170.


If sow what are the dip switch settings.
The manual for the card is at http://members.dodo.com.au/~slappanel555/manuals.htm

abpccpba
May 17th, 2011, 11:13 AM
Thank You Modem 7 for the url. I have not read such a complex document before. Would you happen to know where I could find the setup software?

Thanks
abpccpba

modem7
May 18th, 2011, 02:56 AM
You won't need software if all you want to do is top up the existing memory (base and/or extended) in your 5170.
Is that what you want to do?

If so, then assuming that you have more than 256K of base (conventional) memory already in your 5170, and assuming that your RAMBANK is fitted with 2M of RAM, and assuming that you don't have any existing extended memory, then your options for the RAMBANK are:

Option 1.

If you have 512K of base (conventional) memory, you would configure your RAMBANK to provide RAM between 512K and 640K (i.e. top up base memory to 640K), and provide the balance of the RAMBANK's RAM as extended memory. The switch settings for that configuration are shown in Example 1 on pages 3-14 and 3-15.

Option 2.

If you have 640K of base (conventional) memory, you would configure all of the the RAMBANK's RAM as extended memory. The switch settings for that configuration are shown in Example 2 on pages 3-15 and 3-16.

abpccpba
May 22nd, 2011, 09:33 AM
Thanks for the information on the ram board. I have put it on hold for now.

I would like to ask another question.

Will a IBM AT 7150 accept a mouse?

Thank You.

modem7
May 22nd, 2011, 03:21 PM
Will a IBM AT 7150 accept a mouse?
Yes. The norm was to connect a serial mouse to the 5170's serial port.