PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a hard drive using my ISA card

Haemogoblin
May 30th, 2011, 07:35 AM
Hi they

I have a Sharp PC7200 and i'm trying to set up a 1gb Maxtor hard drive using a Silicon Valley ISA card i have. I've never done this before, so i'm rather unfamilair with how ISA cards work + their onboard Bios's.

I'm anticipating the card wont read the full 1gb, but i was hopeful that it would detect the hard drive.

How exactly do i go about setting it up?

At present, i have the hard drive hooked up to the computer. When the machine boots, i see some text on the screen indicating the ISA card is connected "ADP60/70". It then hangs for about 30 seconds, before reporting "Drive not ready ERROR"

Cheers
James

Chromedome45
May 30th, 2011, 04:14 PM
Check the most obvious things first. Be sure the drive it is set to "Master" or "Single drive" and try again.

Haemogoblin
June 1st, 2011, 08:18 AM
Hey

Sorry for the late reply, not been well and only just been able to get to the Sharp. As i suspected, the drive was set to Master. I even tried the slave setting as you never know. But i still had a Disk Not Ready Error. I tried running Fdisk and it says no fixed disk detected.

If it helps, this is the ISA card i'm using. The bios is set to enabled.
http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-disk-floppy-controllers/S-T/SILICON-VALLEY-COMPUTER-INC-Two-IDE-AT-Interface-d-67.html

Agent Orange
June 1st, 2011, 08:57 AM
Hey

Sorry for the late reply, not been well and only just been able to get to the Sharp. As i suspected, the drive was set to Master. I even tried the slave setting as you never know. But i still had a Disk Not Ready Error. I tried running Fdisk and it says no fixed disk detected.

If it helps, this is the ISA card i'm using. The bios is set to enabled.
http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-disk-floppy-controllers/S-T/SILICON-VALLEY-COMPUTER-INC-Two-IDE-AT-Interface-d-67.html

More on obvious: