PDA

View Full Version : BIOS issue with Micron Pentium-90



krebizfan
August 29th, 2011, 09:45 AM
I have been trying to add a 5.25" floppy to a Pentium-90 tower. The tower itself has a EISA/PCI motherboard. The BIOS will not allow me to change the values for floppy drives installed. However, I can set and save a supervisor password so that the BIOS will allow some updating. What should I look for to change in order to allow the system to recognize the hardware alteration?

If it didn't flash by so quick, I would provide the version number for the Phoenix BIOS.

Agent Orange
August 29th, 2011, 09:50 AM
I have been trying to add a 5.25" floppy to a Pentium-90 tower. The tower itself has a EISA/PCI motherboard. The BIOS will not allow me to change the values for floppy drives installed. However, I can set and save a supervisor password so that the BIOS will allow some updating. What should I look for to change in order to allow the system to recognize the hardware alteration?

If it didn't flash by so quick, I would provide the version number for the Phoenix BIOS.

What model mobo and what BIOS (AMI/AWARD/Etc)?

krebizfan
August 29th, 2011, 10:08 AM
What model mobo and what BIOS (AMI/AWARD/Etc)?

Phoenix Bios 4.04
Motherboard is Micronics M54Pe-08M
SCSI controller is Buslogic with BIOS revision 4.25

hargle
August 29th, 2011, 11:43 AM
The floppy drive type as stored in cmos is fixed values in a fixed location. Take a look here:
http://www.bioscentral.com/misc/cmosmap.htm

So, you could probably sneak a change in via external software to program this field instead of using setup. I doubt very much that the actual support code for that floppy type has been removed; the setup field has likely just been altered to be read-only.

The trick is the checksum byte, which you would have to re-calculate and update too, otherwise you'll get a checksum error and all your settings will be set back to defaults.

It would require you to get your hands dirty, but a program to read, dump and write CMOS (I probably have one) and a calculator is probably all you need.

Chuck(G)
August 29th, 2011, 11:54 AM
Just for yucks, have you tried GSETUP?

krebizfan
August 29th, 2011, 01:29 PM
Well, I managed to make three mistakes all at the same time to cause my problems. Figures I would manage to enter the correct search query to track down the manual after posting the message. Four failed search attempts means time to ask for help; keeps me from making matters worse.
I used the wrong selection method for the floppy drive section, I loosened the cable to the 3.5" drive and somehow the serial ports were incorrectly setup which interfered with something else and caused more problems. But right now, it seems to be working so thanks to all that responded.

Agent Orange
August 29th, 2011, 02:39 PM
Well, I managed to make three mistakes all at the same time to cause my problems. Figures I would manage to enter the correct search query to track down the manual after posting the message. Four failed search attempts means time to ask for help; keeps me from making matters worse.
I used the wrong selection method for the floppy drive section, I loosened the cable to the 3.5" drive and somehow the serial ports were incorrectly setup which interfered with something else and caused more problems. But right now, it seems to be working so thanks to all that responded.

Here's a reference for you . . .

http://www.elhvb.com/mobokive/archive/Micronics/m54pe.pdf