PDA

View Full Version : IBM 2159 Stealth Aptiva Memory Size Error



lyonadmiral
September 2nd, 2011, 04:52 PM
So I ordered my four SIMM's for this thing to max out the memory to 128 megs, and that is, according to the owner's guide the maximum. Except now when I have 128 in, whenever it does its memory test count, I get "164 Memory Size Error" and some graphics anonmalies. The system BIOS tells me it has 132 megs of RAM and not 128. This system does not have any RAM built in.

Any ideas? I've tested the RAM and the RAM is not faulty.

Thanks,
Dan

modem7
September 2nd, 2011, 05:40 PM
If you remove the four SIMMs, then power up the computer, does the BIOS/POST show 4 MB of RAM ?

lyonadmiral
September 3rd, 2011, 09:21 AM
Doesn't start up at all, gives me the 3-1-1 no memory error.

However, I detected in my troubleshooting, that the 2nd video card that IBM puts in in lieu of the onboard has 4 megs of RAM. Once removing that and going back to the onboard video which has 2 megs of RAM, the error goes away. Isn't that odd?