PDA

View Full Version : Atari 1050 power supply



danielito10
September 24th, 2011, 08:20 PM
Hi, I have had this Atari 800XL with a 1050 disk drive and few dozen of disks and many cartridges and many joysticks for the last 8 years (I have an extra spare 800XL console too), and I was never able to use the disk drive because its power supply is missing, and I can't find the voltage and pin output of the plug anywhere, somebody can check at your own power supply and tell me?

and why not, what command should I use to load a program from the drive? Thanks.

ahm
September 25th, 2011, 03:03 AM
I can't find the voltage and pin output of the plug anywhere,
Anywhere? Really?
http://www.faqs.org/faqs/atari-8-bit/faq/section-47.html

As for pinout, the supplies aren't scarce so it really doesn't pay to try to make your own.

danielito10
September 25th, 2011, 07:28 AM
Hi, 1st I already read that FAQ, in one part is says is 9V DC, and in other part it says it 31V AC, and it never gives me the pinout, and I don't want to blow that thing. I'm sure that you can easily take a look to your power supply.

And I have many dozen different power supplies, so I can easily make one.

ahm
September 25th, 2011, 08:20 AM
Hi, 1st I already read that FAQ, in one part is says is 9V DC, and in other part it says it 31V AC
Yeah, you may want to go back and look at what it actually says.


I'm sure that you can easily take a look to your power supply.
Nope -- packed away in boxes.

Maybe photos are more your speed:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/290565813762

danielito10
September 25th, 2011, 09:16 AM
Thanks. Looking at the link at ebay you sent me and the FAQ, i can confirm the right power supply is 9V AC, I hope this works. Thanks for your help.

carlsson
September 25th, 2011, 11:16 PM
Yes, the 1050 (just like e.g. 1200XL) uses 9VAC or 10VAC depending on region. The reference to 31 you saw are VA = volt-ampere, how much power it draws. Kind of like effect in W but not entirely the same thing. Basically it is a notion that your 9VAC power supply must not be too weak in order to drive the 1050. You'll probably need something in the line of 9VAC 3A. Such transformers can be found loose on eBay but cost a bit of money. On the other hand, spare original Atari power supplies aren't cheap either.

geoffm3
October 14th, 2011, 10:41 AM
Yes, the 1050 (just like e.g. 1200XL) uses 9VAC or 10VAC depending on region. The reference to 31 you saw are VA = volt-ampere, how much power it draws. Kind of like effect in W but not entirely the same thing. Basically it is a notion that your 9VAC power supply must not be too weak in order to drive the 1050. You'll probably need something in the line of 9VAC 3A. Such transformers can be found loose on eBay but cost a bit of money. On the other hand, spare original Atari power supplies aren't cheap either.

This. VA vary from W in that it doesn't account for power factor (how much the current leads/lags the voltage).

FWIW, the Coleco ADAM disk drive power transformer is exactly the same... but those are scarcer. :)

WelshWizard
October 21st, 2011, 10:37 PM
Hi, I have had this Atari 800XL with a 1050 disk drive and few dozen of disks and many cartridges and many joysticks for the last 8 years (I have an extra spare 800XL console too), and I was never able to use the disk drive because its power supply is missing, and I can't find the voltage and pin output of the plug anywhere, somebody can check at your own power supply and tell me?

and why not, what command should I use to load a program from the drive? Thanks.

Try here
http://www.atarimania.com/documents-atari-400-800-xl-xe-manuals_2_8.html
you should find all the manuals you will need have a nosey round the main site
http://www.atarimania.com/atari-400-800-xl-xe.html

Parkzicht
November 26th, 2011, 05:59 PM
Just to remind you guys that when thinking about using a powerpack with the 1050 drive It's not just the 9v that matters. I had a BOOT ERROR and the drive (LEDs) appeared to be working correctly and I was dumbfounded. I had used 'any old 9v powerpack (with 7 Va)' but the output was seemingly too low.When I found the retail Atari powerpack I saw it was 9v 50Hz 27Va. I connected it , everything powered up and there I was playing Dropzone. Bliss...

Mike Chambers
January 20th, 2012, 07:25 PM
is it possible to use a 9 VDC adapter on these 1050s? i dont have a 9 VAC, and the reason i think it MAY be possible (but need to verify with you guys) is that the NES says it requires a 9 VAC adapter, but you can safely use 9 VDC. (and i do on my NES)