PDA

View Full Version : TEKN@R embedded system request



PATRICE
October 9th, 2011, 02:07 PM
Hello everybody !

I'm french so i don't speak or write very well english, sorry !

My problem is about an embedded system witch comports a CPU board basing on a V20.
This board is a STD 32 bus board build in 1988 by TEKN@R canada.
I just would like to upload configurations from the RAM to a PC using a RS232 in order to make backup.
The problem is that i don't find any driver or software from the constructor because he answer me this product is EOL (end of life). The great problem is "if that board really die", 50 persons are END OF LIFE !
This board was buil by TEKNOR in 1988 and was cell by AUTOLOG (Canada) in association with PHL for some sawmills. Teknor does not exist anymore and was buy by Kontron 10 years ago. Autolog does not want to communicate softs to make backup and Teknor/Kontron considare this product as EOL.
If anyone can help me to find some procedures, datasheet and soft to make our backup it would be nice !
The system comports a 70108C as processor, a 70159, 70154 and a 71088 near; a 82C52 for control interupts request. ROM are 28F010 and RAM MCM60L256AFC10. I'm ready to send some photo of the board.
The sawmill has got 4 of these boards : 2 are running quite well and 2 other are in spare but lost memory (RAM) because the battery have a leak ! It's not very hard to replace baterry but the RAM is corrupted and we could backup them from the "good boards" !
Thank you for your interest and your help.
Regards.
PATRICE
P.S. Maybe you could advertise me about the good part of the forum if i'm wrong, thanks !

commodorejohn
October 9th, 2011, 02:28 PM
You write better English than a lot of native speakers, actually...

Chuck(G)
October 9th, 2011, 02:36 PM
Well, given the ROM contents, it might be possible to whip up a transfer utility if the CPU lacked that functionality. But it seems peculiar to me to keep non-volatile data in RAM! Perhaps there is an upload routine already in the ROM?

Basically the 70159 = 8259; 70154 = 8254; 70188=8288 and the 82C52 is pretty much a 28-pin version of the venerable 8250 UART.

You may want to look into using FRAM or MRAM to replace that static 32Kx8 RAM; if the battery does nothing more than keep the RAM alive, you could be rid of the battery entirely.

PATRICE
October 13th, 2011, 02:23 PM
Hello everybody !
At first thank to John to be so indulgent and to Chuck for your advertises.
My problem is not RAM or ROM hardware for the moment and change the nature of the ROM or RAM components will not resolve anything for me. Because of a SN75176 RS485 driver, i don't have any communication on the RS485 Tx side.
I can't change the board with an other one (in spare) because they have lost configuration (bios ?, RAM ?, ...).
I just need a little sofware witch be abble to upload the BIOS and RAM from the "good" board in order to download them in the new one. It seems tha these boards need some C++ borland "assembly language" but i only know FORTRAN and LADER !
THank for your help and your interest !
Patrice

Chuck(G)
October 16th, 2011, 10:38 AM
Patrice, please be patient with me as I've never seen your board and am just guessing. It clearly uses its own software. You mentioned an 82C52, which I assume is connected to the RS485 link. But where does the RS232 come in to the picture? Does this card have more than one UART? Or does it lack RS232 entirely?

If you have access to any manufacturer's literature, such as maintenance manuals or user's manuals, that would be most helpful.

PATRICE
October 19th, 2011, 02:18 PM
6948Hello Chuck !

Thank you for your interest and your help !
Don’t worry i’m patient and know it’ a very hard problem that a specialist must examinate with a lot of reflexion !
At first i would like to answer to your interogations :
1 – There are two communication possible way witch are a RS232 (with a MAX232) and a RS485 (with 2 SN75176). These two ports are wired on a IDC 14 pins connector. Some jumpers allow to set the hardware configuration beetween 232 or 485. The board is insert in a STD BUS 32 Rack witch allow to communicate with a “communication board” TEK-215 comporting at least 4 ports in 485. This jonction beetween the 2 boards is made by the 32 BUS. A second IDC 20 pins connector is present on the front of the board ; i don’t know exactly his utility, but i imagine it considers a TTL communication with I/O other boards.
2 – I have questionned KONTRON and AUTOLOG for some literature. The first answer me that this product was EOL and didn’t want to go to archives ... affraid of dust ? The second is ok to cell us datasheet (250 $ at least) but we don’t exactly know if it is a technical, user or commercial datasheet !!!???
I’m searching and going slightly mad but i’m now sure of that :
- The board comports ROM (2 x INTEL 28F010 = 2048Ko), RAM (3 x MOTOROLA 60L256 = 768Ko)
- The RAM comports the “SETUP” or “CMOS” witch is save by a battery.
And i don’t know how to save or download the setup in order to upload it to another board witch is “memory empty”. Maybe is there a procedure comporting “shut down” “reset” ...
I try to send you a photo.
Lot of thanks !
Regards.
Patrice



6948

PATRICE
December 9th, 2011, 04:08 PM
I have found all documents and more (...) for this board !
Thank a lot for your help !
See you !
Patrice

Chuck(G)
December 9th, 2011, 08:41 PM
I'm sorry that I missed your October 19 post, but it sounds as if you've solved your problem.

If so, congratulations!

kbit
December 10th, 2011, 05:11 PM
just a side note , teknor built industrial boards for various applications and did not play a part in consumer pc market. to the best of my knowledge. glad you found info Patrice !