PDA

View Full Version : Mac SE/30 no sound

Chromedome45
October 28th, 2011, 03:49 AM
Title says it all. I have no startup sound at all. Volume control in control panel maxed out. I did check the speaker wire and it is connected to the mainboard. Maybe speaker?

RWallmow
October 28th, 2011, 11:19 AM
Bad Capacitors on the system board, common and fixable with a board recap, I would say 99.9% of SE/30, Classic's, Classic II's will all do this until they get recapped, Classics will also do the checkerboard screen with bad caps.

olePigeon
October 28th, 2011, 11:53 AM
I agree with RWallmow. Most likely bad capacitors. I had an LC that had screeching noises out of its speakers and intermittent floppy d, and after I recapped it, it's perfect. It's easier than you think. I'm new to soldering and I have shaky hands, but even I was able to fix my LC after a few tries.

Chromedome45
October 28th, 2011, 12:46 PM
Caps! that's kinda what I figured. I know how to replace and have done before. Just don't really want to do again.

RWallmow
October 28th, 2011, 12:54 PM
Caps! that's kinda what I figured. I know how to replace and have done before. Just don't really want to do again.
Sadly it seems to be a common ailment on our older, beloved Macs of the late 80's/early 90's. They must have used some inferior caps, because I have lots of other Computers and electronics from that time period that DON'T have failing caps. (EDIT: I know over a long enough time frame all electrolytic caps will eventually fail, but these seem premature).

Probably something like the wave of poorly formulated (trying to clone established manufacturers process) junk Chinese caps that hit the PC industry in about 2002-4ish really hard, lots of computers failing with blown caps, wasn't just budget makers, the big ones like HP, Compaq, Dell, and IBM fell victim to that one.

olePigeon
October 28th, 2011, 01:28 PM
Try and find compatible tantalum capacitors, it should help prevent future disasters.