PDA

View Full Version : Something to create a cp/m disk



alexkerhead
April 1st, 2006, 04:39 AM
Is there a disk imager that will make a cp/m disk to work in my 190KB drive in my osborne?

Terry Yager
April 1st, 2006, 05:38 AM
Extracting a CP/M disk image out to the floppy disk is pretty straightforward. Usually you'll start out with an image file on the hard drive, containing a copy of the Osborne bootdisk, which must be extracted with whatever program created the image. You'll also need a program that changes your PC's floppy parameters so that it will be able to write the CP/M format of your choice. One very commonly used program is 22Disk, which is available d/l from Gaby's site:

http://www.gaby.de/edownl.htm

--T

alexkerhead
April 1st, 2006, 07:14 AM
Extracting a CP/M disk image out to the floppy disk is pretty straightforward. Usually you'll start out with an image file on the hard drive, containing a copy of the Osborne bootdisk, which must be extracted with whatever program created the image. You'll also need a program that changes your PC's floppy parameters so that it will be able to write the CP/M format of your choice. One very commonly used program is 22Disk, which is available d/l from Gaby's site:

http://www.gaby.de/edownl.htm

--T
Thanks Terry.
I cant seem to find a image for the disk, i downloaded teledisk, but the osborne 1 images wont boot, and I read somewhere this isn't a problem, I als tried the B: drive with the shift " thing, and the drives aren't the issue.
Terry, would you happen to know where I can find some images of osborne executive disks?

Terry Yager
April 1st, 2006, 08:12 AM
Nope, all I have is Osborne 1, and you're correct, they won't work on an Executive.

--T

CP/M User
April 1st, 2006, 01:16 PM
alexkerhead wrote:

> Thanks Terry.
> I cant seem to find a image for the disk, i
> downloaded teledisk, but the osborne 1 images wont
> boot, and I read somewhere this isn't a problem, I
> als tried the B: drive with the shift " thing, and
> the drives aren't the issue.
> Terry, would you happen to know where I can find some
> images of osborne executive disks?

Did you try contacting Gaby Chaudry?

She's a wonderful lady & I'm quite sure she'd be happy to help
anyway she can. Unfortunately the only person I knew of (Don
Maslin) who would have had an image (or would have provided a
system disk for your Osborne Executive) passed away 2004. If
anyone knows what's happening in this regard - that'll be
Gaby.

Suprised an Osbourne 1 system disk wouldn't work on an
Executive though, the machines simply look alike! Must be in
the hardware where the incompatabilities start.

But yeah, try Gaby (if you haven't done so) cause she'll be
very happy to help. Her e-mail is gaby at gaby dot de

Cheers,
CP/M User.

alexkerhead
April 1st, 2006, 07:50 PM
alexkerhead wrote:

> Thanks Terry.
> I cant seem to find a image for the disk, i
> downloaded teledisk, but the osborne 1 images wont
> boot, and I read somewhere this isn't a problem, I
> als tried the B: drive with the shift " thing, and
> the drives aren't the issue.
> Terry, would you happen to know where I can find some
> images of osborne executive disks?

Did you try contacting Gaby Chaudry?

She's a wonderful lady & I'm quite sure she'd be happy to help
anyway she can. Unfortunately the only person I knew of (Don
Maslin) who would have had an image (or would have provided a
system disk for your Osborne Executive) passed away 2004. If
anyone knows what's happening in this regard - that'll be
Gaby.

Suprised an Osbourne 1 system disk wouldn't work on an
Executive though, the machines simply look alike! Must be in
the hardware where the incompatabilities start.

But yeah, try Gaby (if you haven't done so) cause she'll be
very happy to help. Her e-mail is gaby at gaby dot de

Cheers,
CP/M User.
I didn't know Don Maslin passed away.. Everywhere i have been(search engines) that mentions his work said nohing about that(old links probably ..That is sure a great loss.
I will contact Gaby, hopefully she will have some good advice for the situation.

Thanks.

edit: btw, the osborne 1 and executive are quite different in appearance.
Osborne Portable I (http://www.old-computers.com/museum/photos/osborn1_1.jpg)
Osborne Executive (http://www.ubertechworld.com/museum/images/Osborne_Executive/osborneexecutive_4.jpg)

CP/M User
April 1st, 2006, 09:18 PM
alexkerhead wrote:

> edit: btw, the osborne 1 and executive are quite
> different in appearance.

Oh yeah, sorry 'bout that!

Cheers.

alexkerhead
April 1st, 2006, 09:45 PM
alexkerhead wrote:

> edit: btw, the osborne 1 and executive are quite
> different in appearance.

Oh yeah, sorry 'bout that!

Cheers.
No need to apologize.
I think the only difference besides physical, is that the ROM has a different programming, but the internals are pretty much the same.

Terry Yager
April 2nd, 2006, 10:38 AM
IIRC, the Executive's big selling point was that huge 7" screen (24 x 80).

--T

alexkerhead
April 2nd, 2006, 06:36 PM
Unfortunatly, the executive sold far far far less units then the portable I, reason is that by the time it was made, the ibm compatible were hitting hard, and they announced a pc compatible to be released soon, so sales dropped exponentially. So the Executive is one of the rarer osborne models, sells for more then the osborne I. But yes, it corrected all flaws of the osborne I, the screen was an excellent upgrade, but is still small. I cannot understand how anyone used these day to day...lol....The words are soooo tiny.

Terry Yager
April 2nd, 2006, 08:48 PM
I've got an issue of Popular Computing around here somewhere, and the cover story is about Osborne 'jumping on the IBM bandwagon' with the introduction of the 'Executive II', which is CP/M & IBM compatible. I'll see if I can find it...

--T

alexkerhead
April 2nd, 2006, 09:04 PM
Sweet, yeah, because that is what caused them to go bankrupt.