PDA

View Full Version : Memory upgrade for StarMax 3000



platatomi
January 11th, 2012, 11:10 PM
Recieved a StarMax 300/160 with 24MB of memory. I would like to upgrade a little and I need to know if standard 168 pin SDRAM cards (PC100, PC133, etc.) will work in here or if I need something special? The SDRAM cards plug in fine, but im am hesitant to test this for fear it might toast the system, Thanks for any advice.

AppleIIfan
January 12th, 2012, 06:46 AM
Takes I believe EDO DIMMs, Ill look thru my bag o ram and see waht I got

Compgeke
January 12th, 2012, 07:18 AM
I believe the Starmax 3000 is the SAME as my Mactell XB203/MT, and it uses the regular SD ram found in PCs, makes it a lot easier to upgrade. Based on the everymac site, it uses 60ns 168 Pin DIMMS, same as the XB/203 MT.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/motorola/starmax3000/starmax3000_160dt.html

platatomi
January 12th, 2012, 07:29 AM
Well I have found some for sale that claims to be compatible with my machine here: http://www.memorystock.com/memory/MotorolaStarMax3000200.html, just wanted to make sure that all the SDRAM I already have won't work before I buy this.

platatomi
January 12th, 2012, 08:21 AM
Everything I have read has said it uses EDO memory, so I guess my question would be: how are EDO and SDRAM different, and are they interchangeable at all?

BGoins12
January 12th, 2012, 08:48 AM
These use EDO memory. I owned one identical to yours at one time but sold it. I do have some EDO memory that will work with it if you are interested. One is a 32 and the other is a 64. They came out of a working Power Mac 5500/250 with a bad video chip.

PM me if you are interested in them.

dorkbert
January 12th, 2012, 09:03 AM
EDO RAM (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EDO_RAM#Extended_data_out_DRAM_.28EDO_DRAM.29) and SDRAM (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SDRAM) are very different animals. They are not interchangeable.