PDA

View Full Version : Trying to revive Mac Color Classic



gubbish
January 18th, 2012, 08:19 PM
Hi,

Just rescued a Mac color classic before it hit the recyclers. It currently appears to be non-responsive.
When turning it on, you can hear a faint "zip" sound, and there is no response when pressing the power key of a connected ADB keyboard.
I do have another working color classic so that might be useful for testing.
Any ideas about first steps on this one?
Thanks..

tezza
January 19th, 2012, 12:36 AM
Not leaky caps? They are certainly an issue with the Classic II (http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2012-01-09-classic-ii-cottonbud-solution.htm)?

Tez

gubbish
January 19th, 2012, 05:11 AM
Thanks Tez,

Checked the caps, and they were indeed leaky. Cleaned it off but still no luck.
However, I remembered that a Mac LC won't start up when it has a dead PRAM battery, and I had read somewhere that the same thing happens with a color classic. I removed the PRAM battery to test, and it would still not start without the dead battery. But luckily I had a good 3.6V battery from a Mac LC, and swapped that in.
Bingo, it worked! It lives again..

This mac was in an elementary school, and has some sort of software called "At Ease" installed. On bootup it asks you if you are a student or a teacher. Don't know the teacher password so I was stuck being a student again. Now to dig out some OS install disks..

geoffm3
January 19th, 2012, 07:31 AM
Can you just start with extensions disabled I wonder and have it boot normally?

tezza
January 19th, 2012, 10:37 AM
This mac was in an elementary school, and has some sort of software called "At Ease" installed. On bootup it asks you if you are a student or a teacher. Don't know the teacher password so I was stuck being a student again. Now to dig out some OS install disks..

Assuming it acts like a Classic II, booting the Mac with the "command/option/shift/delete" keys held down should force a boot from a floppy disk. You can then use something like SC HD Setup from a floppy to re-initialise the hard disk and reinstall an OS over the top of it.

I had fun battling to erase with AT EASE especially where said hard drive wasn't an Apple one. I've written about it here (http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2011-08-6-handling-at-ease.htm).

Tez

gubbish
January 19th, 2012, 02:54 PM
Another excellent write-up, Tez, this should definitely help in re-braining this Mac.
Another step it looks like I need to take is patching the 7.1 startup disks with the right System enabler.
I'm not so experienced with macs so had to search around a bit to understand why when I tried to boot from the 7.1 "install me first", it said that "this model" of mac was not supported. From what I have read you need enabler 401 in the system folder of both the "install me first" and "disk tools" disks for those to boot on a color classic.
Will keep you posted..

applefreak
January 20th, 2012, 07:10 AM
I remembered that a Mac LC won't start up when it has a dead PRAM battery
only the LC 475

LC, LCII, LCIII do not need a pram battery to start up

gubbish
January 20th, 2012, 08:20 AM
Ah, ok. That is indeed the one I have that does not boot without a PRAM battery.
Without many issues, I've installed 7.1 on the color classic. It didn't seem to complain about the drive, just formatted without issue.
Now I'm gathering up the drivers and such to get ethernet working. Anyone know of some internet tools such as ping, telnet, etc that will work on System 7.1?

tezza
January 20th, 2012, 10:36 AM
Good to hear you've got it up and running!

Tez

olePigeon
January 20th, 2012, 11:16 AM
Good ol' NCSA Telnet (ftp://ftp.ncsa.uiuc.edu/Mac/Telnet/Telnet2.6/Telnet2.6.sit.hqx) for telnet and MacTCP Ping (http://download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/English-North_American/Macintosh/Misc/MacTCP_Ping_2.0.2.sea.bin) for ping.

Here's a good website for other classic networking apps: http://www.macorchard.com/classic/