PDA

View Full Version : Help reading AppleWorks files (Apple IIe)

Erik
April 6th, 2006, 01:54 PM
Obtained via email:

Hi-
I am looking to find a way to convert some disks made in the late 1990's on an Apple IIe, using Appleworks. These are the journals I wrote when my son was a baby. He will graduate from High school in June of this year. I just came from a friend here in Reno who has an Apple, but lots of error messages since it could not read the disks. Any ideas? I live in Reno, Nevada. I am not a computer pro and couldn't figure out how to post to your site. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,

Zahra

I replied with:

Hello Zahra,

I'm not sure what type of errors you got but either his drives are bad or your disks are. Hopefully it was just the drive. If your friend has a head cleaning kit that might be enough to get it fixed up.

If you can get a machine that works you should be able to load the journals with Appleworks and send them over the serial port to a PC hooked up on the other end (you might need a null modem cable) by "printing" to a serial printer. I'm not that familiar with Appleworks so I can't be much more specific.

Another option would be to save the programs as text files and then send them over the serial port.

Yet another option is to get an Apple IIe emulator (http://www.zophar.net/apple2.html (http://www.zophar.net/apple2.html)) and try to read the disks on a PC. You'd need a PC with 5.25" drives, though, which might be as hard as finding an Apple IIe! :)

I'll cross post your email onto my boards and hopefully someone there can come up with something else.

If you're ever in the San Jose area I might be able to help as well.

Best of luck!

So. . . can anyone come up with any better ideas or is anyone local who could help directly?

Vlad
April 6th, 2006, 02:20 PM
My AMD Athlon 64 system still liked 5/25 drives, I could donate a few to the cause if that the route they want to go....

-V

Terry Yager
April 6th, 2006, 02:34 PM