PDA

View Full Version : Help with configuring a Cayman Systems GatorBox?



nex
February 2nd, 2012, 05:42 PM
I recently picked up a reasonably priced GatorBox CS, but unfortunately I have been having a heck of time getting it configured. When I received the box, it was already configured by the previous user. As expected, their configuration would not have worked for me locally, but they also had a password preventing access via GatorKeeper (3.0.2R4). So, I found out the routine for reseting the box through the serial port and then made sure that the system had the latest versions of GatorShare installed (3.0.3x4). After reseting the configuration, I then tried to connect to the GatorBox using GatorKeeper, but when the application scans for any boxes, I see the following error each time:


ATP Error code -1 form GatorBox_CS108666
Unable to communicate with the GatorBox. (OK)

From within the GatorBoxes view of GatorKeeper, I do see GatorBox_CS108666 (as well as GatorDefaults). However, if I try to click on GatorBox_CS108666, I only see the following error:


GatorKeeper is unable to communicate with the selected GatorBox.
This item cannot be changed. (Cancel)

Still within the GatorBoxes view of GatorKeeper, if I drag GatorDefaults on top of GatorBox_CS108666, I get the following dialog box:


This action will replace all of the configured options on this GatorBox.
Are you sure you want to do this?
(Replace Configuration)

However, selecting Replace Configuration eventually provides the same communication error:


ATP Error code -1 form GatorBox_CS108666
Unable to communicate with the GatorBox. (OK)

I've tried looking around through the test/serial interface, but I don't think there's much else that can be configured there. I did, however, successfully test all of the components through the serial interface.

Here's the output of the tests as well some additional information about the GatorBox system:


Diagnostics running...
Checking stack memory:
.................................................. .....................
Stack memory valid. Please wait 10 seconds for initialization...


Welcome to GatorBox_CS User Diagnostics V1.02


GatorBox_CS User Diagnostics

1) Test all components of your GatorBox_CS
2) Run individual diagnostic tests
3) Display information about your GatorBox_CS
4) Set boot options
5) Help

To reboot the system, move the ethernet connection
switch from the TEST position.

Which option would you like? 1

Starting motherboard memory test. This will take about 10 seconds.
Checking data lines...Motherboard memory data line test passed.
Testing main motherboard memory chips ........Passed.

Starting SIMM memory test. This will take about 45 seconds.
Checking data lines...Passed
Calculated SIMM memory size: 512 Kbytes
Testing SIMM memory chips ........Passed

Starting LocalTalk/Serial Port test ... LocalTalk/Serial Port test passed
Starting Ethernet test ... Ethernet test passed!
Starting timer test ... Timer test passed!
Starting the EEPROM test ... EEPROM test passed!

Running the code memory test will destroy the software in your
code memory and require you to reinstall your software.
Do you wish to continue? Press 1 for yes or 0 for no <default 0>
Aborting code memory test.

Starting parameter memory test
Saving parameter memory
Clearing parameter memory
Erasing parameter memory
Writing parameter memory
Checking parameter memory: Passed
Restoring parameters (takes about 15 seconds)... Passed

All selected diagnostic tests have passed.



GatorBox_CS User Diagnostics

1) Test all components of your GatorBox_CS
2) Run individual diagnostic tests
3) Display information about your GatorBox_CS
4) Set boot options
5) Help

To reboot the system, move the ethernet connection
switch from the TEST position.

Which option would you like? 3

GatorBox_CS System Information
EPROM version: 1.02
Hardware description: Cayman Systems Inc. GatorBox CS
Serial number: 108666
CPU type: 10 MHz Motorola 68000
DRAM memory size: 1024 Kbytes
Code memory size: 1024 Kbytes
Parameter memory size: 64 Kbytes
Hardware revision level: 1
Prom revision level: 1
Ethernet Address: 00-00-89-01-a8-76
Appletalk NBP name: GatorBox

Installed software is valid. Update utility software is valid.
Software version: GatorSystem 3.0.3X4
Software checksum value: 0x1ab5f230
Software image size: 508780 bytes
Software load address: 0xd00200
Note: the above output was generated when GatorSystem was installed (and not GatorShare), however both releases produce the same output.

As for my setup, it looks like this:

[Mac Color Classic, 7.6.1]<Mac printer/localtalk port>--<GatorBox localtalk port>[GatorBox CS]

Any tips or pointers? If I had to guess, I think there's something screwy with AppleTalk/LocalTalk on the Mac, but unfortunately I have very little experience with AppleTalk/LocalTalk. Is there anything I can check w.r.t. the network (AT/LT) settings or reset in 7.6.1? Is it possible that I'm missing a certain program/extension? Any advice is welcome!

nex
February 2nd, 2012, 06:05 PM
What was I thinking? Everybody loves to see pics...so here is one of the board:

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/5966/gatorboxcs2012.jpg

applefreak
February 3rd, 2012, 07:19 AM
GatorBox CS configuration (http://www.unix-ag.uni-kl.de/~pcfe/Gatorbox/index.html)

helpful ?

nex
February 3rd, 2012, 01:40 PM
GatorBox CS configuration (http://www.unix-ag.uni-kl.de/~pcfe/Gatorbox/index.html)

Thanks for checking. Yes, that is a good reference I've been using...but unfortunately I can't get past "When you double-click your GatorBox a window will open." When I click on the GatorBox, I only end up generating the following error every time:



GatorKeeper is unable to communicate with the selected GatorBox.
This item cannot be changed. (Cancel)


I have a feeling that something is wacky about this Color Classic that I am using to configure it. (Honestly, I'm actually more of an Apple II guy that jumped ship to Unix/Linux when I could no longer get away with using my IIgs!) So, I may just re-image the OS to make sure the Localtalk/Appletalk bits are half sane.

dorkbert
February 3rd, 2012, 01:55 PM
perhaps the application requires specific version of Mac OS?

njroadfan
February 10th, 2012, 11:15 AM
Throw a pre-Open Transport version of the OS on the machine (System 7.5.0 or older) and try again. Some AppleTalk configuration tools don't work correctly with Open Transport and require the classic networking system. Yes its a bit of a pain since Apple decided to not release 7.1 or 7.5 free, but its out there.

nex
February 20th, 2012, 07:11 PM
Throw a pre-Open Transport version of the OS on the machine (System 7.5.0 or older) and try again. Some AppleTalk configuration tools don't work correctly with Open Transport and require the classic networking system. Yes its a bit of a pain since Apple decided to not release 7.1 or 7.5 free, but its out there.

Thank you for this tip. I finally got the right balance with 7.1 and the box is now fully configured. Woohoooo!