PDA

View Full Version : K7S5A back from the dead



DimensionDude
April 12th, 2006, 05:18 PM
I'm sure that I mentioned before that I had this particular board and that it had bad capacitors. It appeared to be stone dead.

I replaced the bad caps (I know, I shoulda replaced all of 'em) at a total cost of $14US and a couple of hours of labor. It wasn't easy, that board can really pull the heat out of a soldering iron.

It's currently running a CPU burn-in program under Win98SE (temp is now 118F). It's fast, too. I've never seen Windows install that quickly.

Keeping my fingers crossed :)

Kent

alexkerhead
April 12th, 2006, 07:30 PM
Good stuff, and good luck.

DimensionDude
April 20th, 2006, 06:05 PM
An update for those interested (and even those who aren't).

CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1700+

RAM: 256MB PC133

Ambient temp: approx. 77F (I like being just a bit warmer than most)

Installed in a mid-tower case.

The system ran WinStress for 24 hours without error. Max CPU temp was 129F as reported by SpeedFan.

I'm gonna call it good :D

Kent

Terry Yager
April 20th, 2006, 07:55 PM
Kewl!

--T

CP/M User
April 20th, 2006, 09:09 PM
DimensionDude wrote:

> An update for those interested (and even those who
> aren't).

> CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1700+

> RAM: 256MB PC133

> Ambient temp: approx. 77F (I like being just a bit
> warmer than most)

> Installed in a mid-tower case.

> The system ran WinStress for 24 hours without error.
> Max CPU temp was 129F as reported by SpeedFan.

> I'm gonna call it good :D

Any ambitions to put any other OSes on? 'nix?, OS/2?, CP/M-86?
Or is there another machine in the house which can happily run
those?

DimensionDude
April 21st, 2006, 01:16 PM
The ambition for this particular machine is to sell it. I have others for experimentation.

In fact, I do have a Celeron 333 (old eMachine) with Red Hat Linux 9 installed on it. It's just a bit underpowered or perhaps it needs more ram.

Let's see, other operating systems that I have available:

DOS 5.0
DOS 6.22

Windows 3.1
Windows 3.11
Windows 3.11 for Workgroups
Windows 95b
Windows 98
Windows 98SE
Windows XP Pro

OS/2 2.0
OS/2 2.1
OS/2 Warp

I also have a "demo" of QNX that allows Web access from a floppy.

Plenty of stuff to play with :)

Kent

CP/M User
April 21st, 2006, 01:40 PM
DimensionDude wrote:

> I also have a "demo" of QNX that allows Web access
> from a floppy.

I believe I have that somewhere as well too. Quite remarkable
what you can get into 1.44Mb. I think that was the program I
got, from memory it had to be setup each time (as a little bit
of uncompressing was required).

> Plenty of stuff to play with :)

Okay, though how do you spend time using them - through
applications or programming perhaps?

CP/M User.

DimensionDude
April 21st, 2006, 02:43 PM
Your QNX demo sounds like the one that I have. It creates a ramdrive then uncompresses and runs from there. Makes for a good "quickie" test of network capability.

Most of the stuff that I do is through apps. I didn't get into the programming aspect of things very heavily. Mostly BASIC, and GWBASIC at that. Although I did pass a FORTRAN college course, I have no recollection at all of how to program in that language :)

Kent

CP/M User
April 21st, 2006, 03:45 PM
DimensionDude wrote:

> Your QNX demo sounds like the one that I have. It
> creates a ramdrive then uncompresses and runs from
> there. Makes for a good "quickie" test of network
> capability.

Yeah something like that. I think this OS could run something
as low as a 386 too - for some reason I don't recall testing
it, maybe cause I mostly have 386SX-16Mhz - might want a bit
more grunt & memory (each of my machines have 4Mb!).

> Most of the stuff that I do is through apps. I didn't
> get into the programming aspect of things very
> heavily. Mostly BASIC, and GWBASIC at that. Although
> I did pass a FORTRAN college course, I have no
> recollection at all of how to program in that
> language :)

Oh dear, well at the moment - BASIC has taken control over my
life - by being nothing more than it's typical difficult self.
Once the project's over - I'll happily move back to Turbo
Pascal & sit on that. Occassionally translated a GWBASIC
program into TP & got some pleasing results - their relatively
very simular languages (well I'm referning to TP 3.x - later
versions are simply more powerful - still a good way of
getting a GWBASIC program onto CP/M-86 though - using TP 3).

CP/M User.

vbriel
April 21st, 2006, 05:22 PM
I have one of these boards with an 1133 Athlon. It was my main PC until I upgraded to P4 2.8 last year. I went to fire it up the other day and now after sitting for a year, dead! Very sad about that. Unfortunately not worth too much time. I may try a few tests when I have time but new boards on epay are only about $20. These can handle XP with no problems.

Vince