PDA

View Full Version : Commodore CBM8032 C2N issues



alexkerhead
April 17th, 2006, 06:50 PM
OK, the CBM 8032 came in, and boots fine, and accepts the usual basic commands.
BUT, when I type load with the C@N hooked up, it says "hit play" so I hit play, it says "searching" and the tape wont move. It seems like there is no electricity going to the motor....I tried two different WORKING C2N units, both do the same thing.
So, I cleaned the connection on the back, and cleaned the connections on the C2Ns, same thing......
Try the C2Ns on the VIC-20, they work fine.
I had them grounded as well, then tried ungrounded....
I also went inside and checked for burnt leads, or unseated chips, nothing was out of order, but I reseated the chips anyway..
Ther C2Ns still wont work.
Is there something I am, not doing?
Or do you think it is just a lost cause?

billdeg
April 18th, 2006, 01:25 AM
there are two cassette ports on an 8032, are you sure you're plugged into the 1st one?

alexkerhead
April 18th, 2006, 06:51 AM
there are two cassette ports on an 8032, are you sure you're plugged into the 1st one?
Yes, the one on the back, I tried the one on the side, but it didn't even respond when I pressed play.
Maybe the original C2N I have coming in will work...
I can always find a disk drive for it though.