PDA

View Full Version : Update: ADDS Regent 25 Serial Terminal Restoration, IT WORKS! mostly!! :o)



RetroGamerVX
March 8th, 2012, 03:45 PM
Hi all,

After approximatly 20 hours of research and work, I have managed to get some life out of the ADDS Regent 25 Serial Terminal
from the 1970s. There is still much work to be done, but at least we now know it has life. Details in this video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gke-NnAe1Rc

ahm
March 8th, 2012, 04:49 PM
You know, you can do a lot of testing of the terminal without it connected up.
Just set the Line Mode to "Half" and start whacking keys - if they work, they should appear on the screen.

RetroGamerVX
March 8th, 2012, 04:53 PM
You know, you can do a lot of testing of the terminal without it connected up.
Just set the Line Mode to "Half" and start whacking keys - if they work, they should appear on the screen.

Thanks ahm, didn't know that, but I had tested it with putty and have a list of the culprets, when I cleaned it up, I saw the patch of damage and continuity tested it which it seemed to work, but obiously not well enough for the system, either that, or the pads under the keys (a sort of foil) are too degraded to work anymore. Anyway, going to test those contacts with tin foil and if that does not work, bridge the damage, if it does work, make new pads :o)

Thanks for the help :o)

Steve

RetroHacker_
March 14th, 2012, 07:45 AM
You can also just join pins 2 and 3 on the RS232 port with a paper clip. Assuming the RS232 line drivers and everything are operating correctly, you'll see what you typed on the screen in full duplex online mode.

-Ian

Chuck(G)
March 14th, 2012, 10:29 AM
You can also just join pins 2 and 3 on the RS232 port with a paper clip. Assuming the RS232 line drivers and everything are operating correctly, you'll see what you typed on the screen in full duplex online mode.

You may also need to jumper RTS/CTS (pins 4 and 5)--and I've seen at least one terminal that won't send without DSR forced high.

RetroHacker_
March 14th, 2012, 11:13 AM
You may also need to jumper RTS/CTS (pins 4 and 5)--and I've seen at least one terminal that won't send without DSR forced high.

Do you remember which models/manufacturers? I've yet to encounter one (to my knowledge). I frequently use terminals with simple "three wire" cables, and I've yet to run into one that won't function like that. I've seen plenty of machines that really benefit from the flow control afforded by other types of cables, but haven't seen one that flat out wouldn't work without it.

-Ian

Chuck(G)
March 14th, 2012, 11:57 AM
It depends upon how the terminal setup was done. I think that it's possible to set flow control options on various VT220 terminals, for example. I can haul out my manuals and check, if you like. I do remember wiring a lot of 3-wire cable jumpering (4,5) and (6, 8, 20) on each terminal plug (it's probably an indicator because I know the pins by heart, even though I haven't wired an RS232C terminal up in many years.)

jonathan2340
April 6th, 2012, 02:49 AM
hey friends....This information is really beneficial for me. I really like this post.

RetroGamerVX
April 6th, 2012, 03:04 AM
hey friends....This information is really beneficial for me. I really like this post.


Do not fear, I have the terminal fully working now, there will be a video coming up in the next few weeks to show how I did it :o)

Steve