PDA

View Full Version : Cache module issue with an HP Vectra VE 5/xx



iulianv
March 18th, 2012, 05:10 AM
I have a Pentium-based HP Vectra VE system whose performance I'm trying to "maximize" - it originally came with a 75 MHz CPU, but since the mainboard has jumpers to choose from 50, 60 and 66 MHz FSB settings, as well as a dip-switch to up the multi from 1.5 to 2, it now happily runs as a "Vectra VE 5/132" system with its new 133 MHz Pentium.

The one thing I'm having trouble with is upgrading it with a COAST cache module - it didn't came with one (it has a "terminator" instead, but it works just as well without it), and i haven't found the exact HP part-number yet (D3403A / 5063-7055). However, I found two pieces of this one (according to the info there, it should work):

http://www.printerworks.com/HP-Parts/HP_Cache_Module_D3659-63002.htm

Now, turning on the system with the module plugged in results in... well, almost nothing - no lit LEDs, no PSU fan spinning, nothing but a ticking sound that seems to come from the hard-drive, it's almost as if nothing gets any power anymore; I tried several other COAST modules, and almost all of them would give the same result (two of them allowed the system to power on, but nothing would show up on the monitor, and the cache module would get pretty hot pretty soon, so I assumed they were faulty).

Is it possible that a cache module affect a mainboard so seriously? Or, can the mainboard be that sensitive to the COAST brand/model?

Chuckster_in_Jax
March 18th, 2012, 06:30 AM
Did you get the Users Guide off the HP website?

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/lpv07145/lpv07145.pdf

It refers to setting a jumper J6 on page 19.

There is also part of the Service manual here that gives part numbers:

http://bizsupport2.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/lpv07144/lpv07144.pdf

iulianv
March 18th, 2012, 07:21 AM
My system seems to be slightly different (J6 is for FSB selection) - it's this one:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DocumentIndex.jsp?contentType=SupportManual&lang=en&cc=us&docIndexId=64180&taskId=120&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=32472

I do have a 3-pin J3 on the board, which is undocumented, but changing it had no effect on the cache functionality (it only seemed to clear the CMOS).

mnl
March 20th, 2012, 03:25 PM
That one is a synchronous module. Maybe you should use an asynchronous one. Some Vectra motherboards won't work with synchronous modules. Check the Technical Reference Guide (assuming yours is an HP Vectra VE 5/xxx series 2) at hp site (http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DocumentIndex.jsp?lang=en&cc=es&taskId=110&prodClassId=-1&contentType=SupportManual&docIndexId=65818&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=32473). Maybe you should check this (http://www.pctechguide.com/computer-memory/what-is-l2-level-2-cache-memory) too.

Chuck(G)
March 20th, 2012, 04:01 PM
Don't know if this helps anyone, but I went digging in my DIMM hellbox and found a 0960-0935 COAST module (512K, sync) from a Vectra VL. If anyone needs it, they can have it for shipping...