PDA

View Full Version : Kaypro ii

hitachi
April 17th, 2012, 08:20 PM
Hello to all, I am new here, and hope to receive only a slap on the wrist if this thread is inappropriate

I recently acquired a Kaypro II. It is very different from other computers I have, such as the commodore 64, ti-99/4a, Atari 130xe etc.

What can I do with it? It turns on and says insert a disk into drive A. I have no disks. Can someone point me to a complete noob's guide to getting software to run on this? I have seen guides where people use another older computer to 'burn' images onto 5.25 floppies. I don't even have that capability. Can I burn disks with my Vista computer?

BTW, I have a very (pardon the pun) basic level of experience with BASIC, but I am a very fast learner. I am under the understanding that this computer can run BASIC, am I correct?

Thanks for your time.
Adam

Maverick1978
April 18th, 2012, 06:26 AM
Hi, Adam, and welcome to the forum! I'm no Kaypro II and am not a CP/M expert, but I read a fellow member's blog at his excellent site, and I recall that he's been exactly where you're at! - and lucky for you, he's got some pretty good writeups on his site :)

Short answer? You're going to need an old computer to function as a tweener system. See if you can pick up a Pentium-4 era system or lower (check Craigslist, freecycle, thrift shops, and your local recycler - often ppl will just give you these "useless" machines for free!). Then pick up a 5.25" drive. I'd recommend a 360kb drive and boot the tweener into DOS for easiest use, but you can also do it with a 1.2mb drive and Win98.

Tezza discusses obtaining Kaypro II software here, (http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2010-03-24-kaypro-software-acquisition.htm) and he has a write-up here (http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2010-02-18-writing-cpm-from-1.2mb-disks.htm) on using 1.2mb drives and Win98 to write out your images.