PDA

View Full Version : Help



snowballs442
April 28th, 2012, 03:12 PM
This is the first of many posts. I have an old Kaypro 1 that uses two 5 disks. It does have power the screen reads 'Kaypro Corporation version 2.01" But that is all that happens. The light on "B" drive comes on and the "A" drive but it seems that it is not getting imput from the keyboard. It is plugged up right. What am I doing wrong

twolazy
April 28th, 2012, 07:50 PM
Well i am going to stab a guess... I know on most systems that are vintage, the battery was located near the keyboard port, sharing a ground line. Have you opened up the unit and checked for corrosion? Check around the keyboard port area.

tezza
April 28th, 2012, 08:40 PM
This is the first of many posts. I have an old Kaypro 1 that uses two 5 disks. It does have power the screen reads 'Kaypro Corporation version 2.01" But that is all that happens. The light on "B" drive comes on and the "A" drive but it seems that it is not getting imput from the keyboard. It is plugged up right. What am I doing wrong

If it's anything like the Kaypro II it should load in CP/M from the disk in A. You do have a Kaypro 1 CP/M disk in drive A right? Unless the machine sucessfully boots off this, the keyboard will remain unresponsive.

Tez

snowballs442
April 29th, 2012, 01:40 PM
Both answers are very good responses...the disk is in the "A" drive correctly and I will check the ground on the keyboard port. Thanks results pending