PDA

View Full Version : Sun Keyboards



cobracon
April 30th, 2012, 05:21 PM
I have a Sparcstation 20 and a Sparcserver 5 that I got a few years ago. Figured they have set long enough, so I bought the proper vga adapter. (on its way now) Question is, will a normal ps2 keyboard work? If not, what type, like Sun type 5 or 6? Also what is the best OS to run on these?

Thanks,

Robert

NeXT
April 30th, 2012, 07:07 PM
It will need the standard type 5 keyboard and mouse. As for an OS, I'd recommend something like Solaris 9 on the 20, depending on the specs and something like Solaris 2.6 would work on the SPARCserver.

cobracon
April 30th, 2012, 07:10 PM
Thanks!!! I'm off to look for a keyboard now.

Wait, could I just serial cable in instead? Also could I install a new os via serial link? Would save the cost of a keyboard and power for another monitor.

NeXT
April 30th, 2012, 07:46 PM
Yep, you can work headless too. Just attach a serial cable to port 1/A, set your console of choice to 9600, 8, N, 1 and you should have full control of the system from there. Only way uyou can really install the OS though is through SCSI (like a CD drive) or through netboot (which I have never done).

barythrin
May 1st, 2012, 10:13 AM
I don't know those models specifically but some Sun's have one serial port and require a splitter for the a/b. Nothing a motivated person couldn't wire out themselves but just a heads up. Some others however as Next suggested and is probably right allow for a straight connection and if no keyboard is found they default to serial a anyway (another fun feature you learn when trying to figure out why it doesn't post to the monitor prior to your keyboard purchase).

Headless is pretty common though, plus gives you the opportunity to test out any terminals you have laying around ;-)

cobracon
May 1st, 2012, 02:55 PM
Yeah that makes my terminal thread do a 360 huh. :)

cobracon
May 4th, 2012, 07:16 PM
Ok I tried to connect via serial. But am not sure I have the right cable. What I have is a 25 pin to 9 pin modem cable. My comp only has a 9 pin on the back.