PDA

View Full Version : original 5150 - adding new hdd



SteveMarg
May 12th, 2012, 05:22 PM
Hi there.

I have an original 5150 with two floppies that I am restoring. As of right now, it works fine using a boot disk (PC DOS 3.3).

I was lucky enough to find a Seagate ST251 with the matching controller card and cables, and I would like to install it in the PC.

Does this require any settings to be changed on my motherboard or in the BIOS?

The HDD/controller came form a 5150.

Thank you,
Steve

modem7
May 12th, 2012, 06:19 PM
The BIOS revision level is of concern. There were 3 revisions of the 5150 BIOS. For a hard drive controller to work in a 5150, the 5150 must have the final revision. One way to tell is to look at what is printed on motherboard chip U33. If U33 has the number 1501476 on it, then you have the final revision.

So, providing that you have the final revision of the 5150 BIOS, simply plug in the controller/drive combination and see how it goes.

vwestlife
May 12th, 2012, 06:28 PM
The BIOS revision level is of concern. There were 3 revisions of the 5150 BIOS. For a hard drive controller to work in a 5150, the 5150 must have the final revision. One way to tell is to look at what is printed on motherboard chip U33. If U33 has the number 1501476 on it, then you have the final revision.

Or just let it boot into Cassette BASIC in ROM. The first two BIOS versions will show Cassette BASIC C1.00. The last version will show Cassette BASIC C1.10.

Druid6900
May 12th, 2012, 06:30 PM
Is the 63.5 watt power supply a concern when adding the hard drive to the 5150?

I've heard both yes and no to that question.

k2x4b524[
May 12th, 2012, 06:49 PM
i think it is, unless you get a hard card...

modem7
May 12th, 2012, 06:51 PM
Is the 63.5 watt power supply a concern when adding the hard drive to the 5150?
I've heard both yes and no to that question.
There is no definate yes or no. It depends on how the 5150 has been optioned and on the hard drive make/model. That's why I suggest a "suck it and see" approach.

pearce_jj
May 12th, 2012, 11:01 PM
I acquired a 5150 with an ST251-1 and ST11M controller, which works OK. Spec is MDA, 1 floppy with original controller, 8088, no co-pro, 256k on board, and another 256k on a QuadBoard. Based on measured consumption at the wall, that combination runs very close to the 63W available on the DC side (AC draw is over 100W).

if you're poking about inside the PSU, have a look for (and replace) any RIFA filter caps btw.

SteveMarg
May 13th, 2012, 07:16 PM
Thank you. I switched out the power supply and it seems to be working now :-)