PDA

View Full Version : Commodore VIC-20 and 64 compatibility



alexkerhead
May 9th, 2006, 11:34 PM
Does anyone know if a vic-20 keyboard will work with a commodore 64?
I am curious, I have a 64 coming soon with a bad key, and I have a vic that is bad, but has a good keyboard.

Edit: Sorry for the wrong section I posted this in, please move it.

carlsson
May 10th, 2006, 01:28 AM
Yes, the keyboards are fully interchangeable.

alexkerhead
May 10th, 2006, 11:03 AM
Thanks Carl.
Also, do you know if the I/C controller chip for the tape interface on a vic-20 will work on a commodore cbm8032(pet)?
I was curious, because I believe there may be a chip fried in my cbm, although it works, it wont work with any c2n I try.

carlsson
May 10th, 2006, 02:05 PM
That'd be 6522 VIA chips. Yes, I think the PETs up to 8096 use 6522, and the later CBM-II series (6xx, 7xx) use 6526 CIAs - I replaced one last week!

If you're lucky, the VIC will have socketed chips so you can easily replace a broken chip with a working one. If the computer is among the last batch (cost reduced), all chips are soldered directly to the board and then it becomes a big hassle to repair it.

alexkerhead
May 10th, 2006, 08:36 PM
Excellent. Thanks Again Carl.

carlsson
May 11th, 2006, 05:50 AM
Some may be 6522A or 6522B, referring to their maximum clock frequency (?), but AFAIK all Commodore units from that era operate close to 1 MHz anyway.

alexkerhead
May 15th, 2006, 12:24 PM
That'd be 6522 VIA chips. Yes, I think the PETs up to 8096 use 6522, and the later CBM-II series (6xx, 7xx) use 6526 CIAs - I replaced one last week!

If you're lucky, the VIC will have socketed chips so you can easily replace a broken chip with a working one. If the computer is among the last batch (cost reduced), all chips are soldered directly to the board and then it becomes a big hassle to repair it.
I might have a wee problem here. I popped the 6522 out of the vic-20, and went to pop it in the cbm, but the cbm has it's 6522 soldered onto the board, and the only removable chip in the series is a 6502. Are there any solutions for this?
Edit: Here are a couple of images of the board.
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/3926/pic000033pj.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/9917/pic000040an.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

carlsson
May 15th, 2006, 09:57 PM
Umm.. a soldering iron to desolder the chips? I've never done it, but people who are more talented are known to do it (or preferrably replace the chip with a socket so they can easily swap it in the future). In the few PETs I've seen open so far, most of the significant chips were socketed, so I'm a slight bit surprised to see them soldered to the board.

alexkerhead
May 15th, 2006, 10:30 PM
Umm.. a soldering iron to desolder the chips? I've never done it, but people who are more talented are known to do it (or preferrably replace the chip with a socket so they can easily swap it in the future). In the few PETs I've seen open so far, most of the significant chips were socketed, so I'm a slight bit surprised to see them soldered to the board.
Oh well, I will just use my vic, I am getting a fdd for the cbm(pet) anyway.
Not a big deal, it works with an fdd, so that is good.