PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Pentium Pro Board



dan951
August 1st, 2012, 01:08 PM
Does anyone have info on this board? I bought one of these on eBay and having a heck of a time finding a owners manual for it. These are the only markings on it "AA 657175-503" and "657003-005". It says on one of the ISA slots "Foxconn" and also has onboard sound. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

http://www.ebay.com/itm/190705853070?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_1501wt_1189

dpatten
August 1st, 2012, 01:41 PM
Does anyone have info on this board? I bought one of these on eBay and having a heck of a time finding a owners manual for it. These are the only markings on it "AA 657175-503" and "657003-005". It says on one of the ISA slots "Foxconn" and also has onboard sound. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

http://www.ebay.com/itm/190705853070?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_1501wt_1189


Searching Intel for the model number referenced in the ePay listing? PR440FX. A search at Intel shows 13 documents and drivers (http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/search.html?lstSites=&allwords=PR440FX) (Including for OS/2!) with the technical specifications being number one on the list (http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=17779&lang=eng&wapkw=pr440fx).

dan951
August 1st, 2012, 04:43 PM
Thanks for posting that info I will look it over. It would be nice to find a manual to the board as the jumpers aren't labeled. Will these VRM's work with my motherboard?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=221081556950&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNA:US:1123&autorefresh=true#ht_500wt_1156

dpatten
August 1st, 2012, 04:59 PM
Thanks for posting that info I will look it over. It would be nice to find a manual to the board as the jumpers aren't labeled. Will these VRM's work with my motherboard?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=221081556950&ssPageName=ADME:B:WNA:US:1123&autorefresh=true#ht_500wt_1156

They have the motherboard jumper settings at Stason. (http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/motherboards/I/INTEL-CORPORATION-Pentium-Pro-PR440FX.html)


As for the VRM I don't know. The diagram at Stason only shows one. I believe the eBay seller for those is actually a member here. you might consider asking him about compatibility with this particular board.

Neon_WA
August 1st, 2012, 07:05 PM
The diagram at Stason only shows one.
This is for the 2nd processor
The VRM for the 1st processor is built into the board

also be aware that this board doesn't support 3.5V Pentium Pros
so these sSpecs... SL245, SL247, SL254 & SL255 (all 200MHz)

Agent Orange
August 1st, 2012, 07:11 PM
Does anyone have info on this board? I bought one of these on eBay and having a heck of a time finding a owners manual for it. These are the only markings on it "AA 657175-503" and "657003-005". It says on one of the ISA slots "Foxconn" and also has onboard sound. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

http://www.ebay.com/itm/190705853070?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_1501wt_1189

Try this: http://www.elhvb.com/mobokive/Archive/Intel/PR440FX_upd_28183212.pdf

Unknown_K
August 1st, 2012, 07:27 PM
PPro Overdrives (333Mhz 512K cache) work fine on that board.

Neon_WA
August 1st, 2012, 07:30 PM
PPro Overdrives (333Mhz 512K cache) work fine on that board.
you mean Pentium II overdrives ;)

dan951
August 13th, 2012, 04:44 PM
I finally got the computer up and running however it will not recognize any of the hard drives I install. The BIOS has an auto detect feature and refuses to detect anything. The floppy disk seems to be working fine but the primary and secondary IDE does not. Any ideas? Also my 1MB Cache PPRO 200's are only being recognized as 256kb cache models.. interesting..

Unknown_K
August 13th, 2012, 04:54 PM
Do you have the lastest BIOS installed? Look inside the BIOS to see if the IDE ports are enabled (most people used the built in SCSI back then). Use a CPU test app to see what the cache is (I think 1MB cache CPUs are black correct?).

Neon_WA
August 13th, 2012, 05:49 PM
(I think 1MB cache CPUs are black correct?).
Yes.. 1MB Pros only came in the black plastic package

Unknown_K
August 13th, 2012, 06:04 PM
Yes.. 1MB Pros only came in the black plastic package

Good, keeps the gold diggers off of them, they are rare to begin with.

Neon_WA
August 13th, 2012, 06:07 PM
just looked at manual... even with bios upgrade it has no support for 1MB Pros

also 1MB have a TDP of 47 watts each
while 512k >> 37 watts and 256k >> 35 watts

3.5 volt Pros which it doesnt support have a TDP of 40 watts
so the 1MB Pros will shorten the lifespan of the board even if they were recognised

dan951
August 13th, 2012, 06:26 PM
I have no idea if I have the latest BIOS installed. Not a lot of info on these boards regarding that but will check into it. The IDE ports are in fact enabled from what the options are in the BIOS. To be honest I don't see a spot to disable them. Yes, my 1MB CPU's are black and I believe they only made the black CPU's in a 1MB cache offering of those days. Just an FYI my board does not have built-in SCSI controller on it.

Neon_WA
August 13th, 2012, 06:29 PM
i presume you found these
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchResult.aspx?lang=eng&ProductFamily=Desktop+Boards&ProductLine=Discontinued+Motherboards&ProductProduct=Intel%C2%AE+PR440FX+Motherboard

Neon_WA
August 13th, 2012, 06:39 PM
Just an FYI my board does not have built-in SCSI controller on it.
Manual says it should

Edit.. just looked at ebay pic.. SCSI connector not installed

Unknown_K
August 13th, 2012, 06:41 PM
My board is built by Intel and they had the last BIOS for it online (last time I checked was 10 years ago or so), I have 68 pin SCSI built in.

dorkbert
August 14th, 2012, 11:54 AM
SCSI is a stuffing option, some integrators want them and some don't.
Intel fabricates the boards to their order.
Excess inventories are then dump onto retail channel.

dan951
August 15th, 2012, 04:32 PM
Interesting. It seems this board will not detect anything bigger than 1.2GB. My 2.5GB, 6.1GB, and 8.4GB cannot be detected. I'm going to see if the seller will exchange this board... bummer