PDA

View Full Version : IBM XT Hardrive



snafle
June 11th, 2006, 04:44 AM
I have an IBM XT pc, and the Hard drive appears to be broken, it says "Boot disc error".
Is there anywhere I can get new discs from, or is it possible to to just connect a normal IDE drive, or make a new cable?
I'm pretty good at soldering etc, so making a cable would not be too much of a problem.

atari2600a
June 11th, 2006, 04:47 AM
(Damn, you know you can type fast if you can add 2 threads in less than 2 minutes! :D )

If you want to get an old 10-20MB drive, for authenticity I guess, you should check out a local electronics surplus (if there's one near you that is... :D )

snafle
June 11th, 2006, 04:50 AM
Heh, it was great to find this forum, my google skills aren't quite up to finding the information I need. I am quite a fast typer though...

I have looked round the old computer shops, and on ebay, but I live in the UK and for some reason they don't seem to love old pcs as much as I do.

I'm willing to pay shipping and some money if some lovely american wants to send one to me, heh.

atari2600a
June 11th, 2006, 04:57 AM
Anywho, have you opened up your XT, & made sure everything's set up right? No loose cables, displaced or incorrectly set Jumpers, something plugged in backwards?

Also, will MS-DOS recognize the disk? Have you tried using FDISK & Format on it? (I think to format it as a system partition it's "format c: /s", but I haven't done it in a while, so I can't be sure)

snafle
June 11th, 2006, 04:58 AM
I've had a look inside, I'll do what you said once my exams are over. Yay for GCSEs :(

atari2600a
June 11th, 2006, 05:02 AM
Also, remember that repartitioning & reformating a HD will lose all data on it, so if it's a computer you've had for 20+ years & want to recover data, doing the above would be a bad idea. Before doing anything, just try reading from it in MS-DOS & see what's on it if anything, & if anything important, be sure to back it up! :D

Random fact of the day: An Apache/2.0.46 system can be crashed by sending an HTML request to port 443.

Luke
June 11th, 2006, 08:36 AM
Also see thread 'Seagate ST-412', you might found solution there.

Most reasonable idea came to my mind: Maybe it don't have OS installed?
Most people before selling computer format disk or delete important data.
You shouldtry to acces drive from diskette. If it fail try SpeedStor utillity.

snafle
June 11th, 2006, 09:03 AM
I had a chat with my dad, and apparently there's a pc museum near where he works so he's going to take it in and let them have a look-see.

It did have an OS at one point, some form of DOS becuase we used to run old games on it.

dongfeng
June 11th, 2006, 09:15 AM
You don't NEED a hard drive to run an XT, if you have a boot disk, you can boot DOS from a floppy disk.

If you do find a supply of MFM drives in the UK, please let me know! Judging by the strange sounds from my ST-412, it's going to need replacing...

Luke
June 11th, 2006, 09:18 AM
You should park heads of hard drive before moving it...
My ST-412 still don't work propetly... :(