PDA

View Full Version : can anyone recommend a good web hoster?



Chris2005
June 20th, 2006, 01:23 PM
I'd like to actually start my own website. I'm trying to avoid yuck yuck yahoo. Any recommendations?

tgunner
June 20th, 2006, 08:47 PM
Once my server and firewall are complete, I'd host it for you, as long as it is all legal, and won't be getting 1,000,000 hits a day... lol

mbbrutman
June 21st, 2006, 06:12 AM
I have been using Web Intellects (http://webintellects.com/) for two years now. Not the cheapest, but I am very pleased with their tech support, billing, bandwidth, etc. Brutman.com is hosted with them, and for what I've got posted they are overkill.

Do not go near GNX.

carlsson
June 21st, 2006, 09:49 AM
GNX? I know about GMX, but that is a German host.

USSEnterprise
June 21st, 2006, 11:58 AM
I use nearlyfreespeech.net
$.01 per megabyte storage used and $1.00 per gigabybe bandwidth used.

Erik
June 21st, 2006, 01:45 PM
I use WestHost for my site and these boards. I've used LunarPages in the past with good results.

If you don't need much space or bandwith then you're probably okay just about anywhere, but watch out for some of the cheap hosts if you want to really use them. They have sneaky tricks (throttling down bandwidth, processor and database usage) they play on bigger customers.

alexkerhead
June 21st, 2006, 06:51 PM
www.hasweb.com

atari2600a
June 21st, 2006, 08:41 PM
I use ProFuse (http://www.profusehost.net/). 1GB/Storage, 100GB/Bandwidth, & completely free. Only downside is speed & 2 ad scripts.

dongfeng
June 22nd, 2006, 01:20 AM
I've used www.web-mania.co.uk for nearly four years, which is cheap and very good. It is in the UK though, but I don't see that being a problem.

Chris2005
July 5th, 2006, 04:03 PM
tanks for the replies. To those that offered space on their servers, a particular thank you, but I really want my own domain name. It's real groovy too ;)

tgunner
July 5th, 2006, 04:36 PM
As long as you have a broadband internet connection, why not host it yourself?
Have a firewall, and an old pc, or mac running linux with either apache or abyss web servers. You can even use your own domain!

alexkerhead
July 5th, 2006, 05:22 PM
Most broadband doesn't offer a good enough upload speed to host it. Like for instance. My 5Mb cable has only 110KB per second uploads.
If I had to download a file or something at 110KB a sec, I would near crap myself. Way too slow for broadband. Best thing is to have someone with trunk host it.

atari2600a
July 5th, 2006, 06:37 PM
110KB/S isn't TOO bad. It'd only slow thing down if the site had a million photos, flash intros & ads, etc...

Most of a web site is just text. On average, a single page would load in about 1 second, then the photos would be about 7 seconds...so that's 10sec max...

alexkerhead
July 5th, 2006, 06:55 PM
lol, the second 25 people are using that site, then it gets hair pullingly slow.
110 is assuming they have a 5Mb account, most people's broadband is 256Kb, that is about 12KB/second upload. It would also slow your connection as well.
Remote, paid hosting is the most logical answer.

mbbrutman
July 5th, 2006, 08:27 PM
My cable modem has plenty of bandwidth - 5MB/s down, and 0.5MB/s up. An old Linux machine can handle that fairly easily.

However, for even the relatively $10 per month that my web hosting service provides I get a tremendous amount of bandwidth and quite a bit of storage. And I don't have to leave my home machine on 24/7 and worry about the security problems. There is a constant barage of port knocking on any connected system. The less often it is online and the less services you run, the safer it is.

So yes, I agree .. get a real web host. For many DSL and cable modem providers, static IP and the right to run servers requires a 'business class' of service which is significantly more than just home users want to pay.

alexkerhead
July 5th, 2006, 08:36 PM
My cable modem has plenty of bandwidth - 5MB/s down, and 0.5MB/s up. .
Did you mean Megabits or Megabytes?
KB=Kilobytes = actual speed
Kb=Kilobits = the way internet companies measure speed
A 5/0.5Megabit connection is actually 600/0.62Kilobytes/s
Hosting a website at 62Kilobytes/s would cause severe bottlenecking with just a few people looking at it.
If you do have a 40Mb connection, wow.
Not being picky, just checking.

mbbrutman
July 5th, 2006, 08:57 PM
My bad .. should be small 'b's, not big ones.

Corrected numbers are 5Mb/s down and 1Mb/s up, or 640KB down and 128KB up.

It's so fast that I don't bother to track it anymore. :-)

alexkerhead
July 5th, 2006, 09:09 PM
It's so fast that I don't bother to track it anymore. :-)
Gotta love dat cable ^_^

80sFreak
July 6th, 2006, 05:14 AM
I have Comcast with 8 Mb/s down and 768kbp/s up.. Sometimes I have been able to get 900 kbps up. :) But I just want FIOS to come to my area already!!

Cheers,

80sFreak

atari2600a
July 6th, 2006, 12:46 PM
So you're saying you get 1MB down?

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 12:54 PM
Gotta love dat cable ^_^

I dunno, I have the slowest cable ever...384Kb/s down & 256 upstream. I could upgrade for ~$10.00/month, but screw 'em! The cable company is already raping me for ~$70.00/m, I ain't about to bend over for 'em again!

--T

80sFreak
July 6th, 2006, 01:17 PM
So you're saying you get 1MB down?

Sorry I screwed up the b's.. http://www.killersklan.it/forum/smile/berlusca.gif

Now I just did a Speakeasy speed test (http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/) and was slightly shocked so I did it another four times.. It came out to 2696 KB/s down and 89 KB/s up! I need to go out there and download something big!!! http://forum.gamestar.de/gspinboard/images/smilies/muhaha.gif

Cheers,

80sFreak

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 01:28 PM
Heh! When I need to d/l an ISO image, or similar, I start the download just before I go to bed, and (if I'm lucky) it *might* be done by the time I wake up in daMornin'...

--T

atari2600a
July 6th, 2006, 01:32 PM
That connection's slow? You should really condisder using Bit Torrent.

USSEnterprise
July 6th, 2006, 02:16 PM
I scored 5.2mb down anf 1.2 mb up. i rule

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 02:17 PM
Ya missed da point, A2600....I don't wanna pay anybody any more than I hafta for basic service. Like yourself, I'm admitedly cheep & lazy...

--T

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 02:19 PM
I scored 5.2mb down anf 1.2 mb up. i rule

<Assuming the appropriate (kneeling) position>...I'm not worthy...I'm not worthy...I'm etc...

--T

USSEnterprise
July 6th, 2006, 02:22 PM
hah, just kidding. i suck, but my broadband rules

Chris2005
July 6th, 2006, 03:18 PM
"That connection's slow? You should really condisder using Bit Torrent."

I used it to download some ISOs a while back. Doesn't this thing open you up to all sorts of security risks? (wasn't my puter tee hee) I guess I should find out something more about it. And does that guy still post a picture of himself and his stoopit kid, looking for handouts LOL LOL LOL.

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 03:24 PM
I dunno, I've just d/l-ed a few linux distros...don't recall seeing a beggar & hiz kid tho...

--T

Chris2005
July 6th, 2006, 04:34 PM
I was just being dopey. I forget his name. The page that loaded once I guess I activated Bittorrent showed him with a teeny weeny baby, stating he works full time maintaining it. Hey maybe I should maintain something full time and get checks in the mail. I maintain more then a few cats. Is that a worthwhile enough cause?

alexkerhead
July 6th, 2006, 06:57 PM
Sorry I screwed up the b's.. http://www.killersklan.it/forum/smile/berlusca.gif

Now I just did a Speakeasy speed test (http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/) and was slightly shocked so I did it another four times.. It came out to 2696 KB/s down and 89 KB/s up! I need to go out there and download something big!!! http://forum.gamestar.de/gspinboard/images/smilies/muhaha.gif

Cheers,

80sFreak
KB is Kilobyte, Kb is kilobit.
They rate it in kilobit, nobody here will see 2.5Megabytes/sec.
A 2.5 Megabit connection is what you have, which is about 325Kilobytes/sec.

alexkerhead
July 6th, 2006, 07:02 PM
I gotta call my internet company, my speeds are way lower than they are supposed to be. I swear if they screwed my plan up I am gonna slap them.
I pay for 5Mb down and 768Kb up.
Look at this crock of crap.
Although I uploaded this 72KB file in half a second...hummm, maybe the atlanta server is messed up.

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 07:29 PM
I was just being dopey. I forget his name. The page that loaded once I guess I activated Bittorrent showed him with a teeny weeny baby, stating he works full time maintaining it. Hey maybe I should maintain something full time and get checks in the mail. I maintain more then a few cats. Is that a worthwhile enough cause?

I dunno, do my mutts count as dependants (all my kidz are grown now)? I won't tell da IRS if you don't...

--T

Terry Yager
July 6th, 2006, 07:42 PM
The citation that I recently received from daCounty stated that if I 'own or harbor' a dog, I was up for a $30.00 licesce fee. IOW, if I feel a sense of compassion enough to feed some stray who comes wandering by, then I am considered that cur's owner, and liable for licencing him, upon threat of finez and/or imprisonment. Better to watch da neighborhood stray starve to death, rather than to risk 90 dayz in jail just for feedin' 'im.
(I'm sure da katz lawz are similar, so be careful whose kat you're feedin').

--T

80sFreak
July 7th, 2006, 07:01 AM
KB is Kilobyte, Kb is kilobit.
They rate it in kilobit, nobody here will see 2.5Megabytes/sec.
A 2.5 Megabit connection is what you have, which is about 325Kilobytes/sec.

Sorry... I was writing down what they had in the brackets.. "()".. Here is the screen cap:

Cheers,

80sFreak

tgunner
July 7th, 2006, 08:12 AM
I scored 5.2mb down anf 1.2 mb up. i rule

No, I rule: http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j39/tgunner90/speed2.jpg

:o

80sFreak
July 7th, 2006, 09:27 AM
No, I rule: http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j39/tgunner90/speed2.jpg

:o

http://www.mraxt.de/forum/images/smiles/danke.gif

Is this your home connection?!

Cheers,

80sFreak

tgunner
July 7th, 2006, 10:27 AM
I wish, no, I'm at my mom's work again, they have a T3.