PDA

View Full Version : Calling on the PS/2 experts... anyway to make this work on a 8570



Springbok
September 4th, 2013, 11:32 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820199032

Was wondering if there is a way to get this to work on a 8570?

amadama
September 4th, 2013, 12:52 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820199032

Was wondering if there is a way to get this to work on a 8570?

Possibly, see this link:
http://ibm.kanotech.org/ps2/#PCFDD

Also note that only the floppy part will work. The SD slot and other flash slots require an internal USB header.

krebizfan
September 4th, 2013, 01:31 PM
The model 70 uses the different floppy connector; see http://www.tavi.co.uk/ps2pages/fdadapt.html

So to get the Newegg device to work, you would need either floppy adapter cables or an MCA card with floppy controller; a normal floppy power connector (probably splitting off one of the hard drive power cables) and a MCA USB card (I don't know of any since USB started as MCA was being phased out).

Look at the design of the card reader carefully. Many use a normal USB connector internally which attaches to the special cable from reader to USB header pins. Some USB cards have an extra USB connector mounted internally and a normal USB cable could be used to connect to the card reader. You don't have to have the official 9-pin USB header.

Hard to find these days but there used to be card readers that connected to SCSI which would be much simpler to work with a Model 70.

Chromedome45
September 4th, 2013, 03:11 PM
MCA USB no such beast! Well not yet AFAIK.

k2x4b524[
September 4th, 2013, 06:48 PM
MCA USB.... if someone were to make one of those, i would buy it in a flash, that would give me much more expandability on my 55slc....

Unknown_K
September 4th, 2013, 07:22 PM
Do you need a working floppy drive or just toying with the idea of USB?

NeXT
September 4th, 2013, 10:39 PM
Working floppy drives in a PS/2 are now as simple as replacing two surface mount capacitors in the drive and cleaning the heads.

Unknown_K
September 4th, 2013, 11:36 PM
The amount of capacitors that need replaced depends on the model drive, I have fixed a bunch of one brand but have not tried the others.