PDA

View Full Version : Magitronic XT RAM board



Al Hartman
September 15th, 2013, 08:23 AM
I found this board in my hoard of stuff. I'd like to populate it to 384k and put it in my 5160.

I can't find the documentation for it online anywhere. Does anyone have it, or can you point me to it on the web?

Thanks!

15192

15193

Stone
September 15th, 2013, 09:17 AM
I think it is a clone of the Intel Above Board PC and those settings will also apply to it:

http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/memory-cards/INTEL-CORPORATION-Memory-card-ABOVE-BOARD-PC-1.html#.UjXprtJwqM0 (http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/memory-cards/INTEL-CORPORATION-Memory-card-ABOVE-BOARD-PC-1.html#.UjXprtJwqM0)

Chuck(G)
September 15th, 2013, 09:36 AM
A little bit of digging shows this to be an MGB-108, 512K RAM card--advertised in November, 1986 Byte by Magitronic Technology, 9-02 43 Road, Long Island City, NY 11101 . Given their product line, they appear to be one of a large number of people who imported PC clone products from Taiwan.

Given the number and type of ICs on the board, I doubt that it's anything more than a simple (conventional) memory board. The switches undoubtedly set the base address (and perhaps the number of banks) for the RAM.

Also see:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20101219091447AAPet2n
http://www.pcmuseum.ca/companyprofile.asp?id=706

Al Hartman
September 15th, 2013, 10:16 AM
I still need the manual for it. I already knew that the switch settings control the start and amount of RAM, I don't know how to set it the way I want it.

Stone
September 15th, 2013, 10:40 AM
I still need the manual for it. I already knew that the switch settings control the start and amount of RAM, I don't know how to set it the way I want it.What do you want to set besides the amount of ram and the base I/O address?

Chuck(G)
September 15th, 2013, 10:40 AM
Can you just figure this out for yourself? I see nothing but common 74xx TTL on the board and there are address lines that go from the bus connector to the switches--and the switches obviously have pullups on them (RP1).

Al Hartman
September 15th, 2013, 11:04 AM
No Chuck, I can't figure it out myself. My skills aren't up to that task.

Why is a request for a manual so difficult to understand? If you can't help me, all this other stuff is just frustrating me, and is not on topic.

I want THE manual for this board. I need to know what kind of chips to populate it with (no guesses), and the proper settings (also no guesses.)

If you can't help me, why are you replying to the thread?

It's a simple thing to ask for.

Chuck(G)
September 15th, 2013, 11:14 AM
Al, okay, after this I won't respond to your posts. Sorry for the trouble.

Al Hartman
September 15th, 2013, 11:40 AM
Chuck, don't take an attitude with me. I'm an adult computerist, I know what I need, and I asked for it.

You decided to respond in a way that wasn't what I asked for, and was in fact frustrating to me.

I know who Magitronic is, I live in NYC and used to sell their stuff. Telling me where a long defunct company was doesn't help me find a copy of the manual for one of their products.

Telling me that the board is simple TTL and that I should be able to figure it out for myself is also not helpful. If I could do that, why would I be asking for a copy of the manual?

You can't be unresponsive to my request, and then catch an attitude with me. That's just wrong.