PDA

View Full Version : Need help - which 486 MoBo can I put in the baby AT case?



Springbok
September 23rd, 2013, 10:33 AM
Hey guys.... was thinking I should try an build a vintage 486 system.

Found this cool new baby AT case on eBay

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271241173494

The biggest issue is which MoBo I can put in there? Is there any way to know? Any specific size mobo. I am assuming it has to be of a "baby AT" type... but how do I know whether an eBay 486 Mobo is a baby AT board?

Also... looking at that riser card... can anyone tell me what type of bus that is for?


Cheers

Al Hartman
September 23rd, 2013, 10:53 AM
Used to use those cases back in the day. That riser card is for a 16 bit ISA Bus.

You could use something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Name-Brand-486-Board-486-System-Board-AT-Style-for-Computer-/261283029741?pt=Motherboards&hash=item3cd5aea2ed

But, you could probably buy a whole system cheaper than putting one together from parts.

Caluser2000
September 23rd, 2013, 11:00 AM
Another member was looking at these a while back. Unsure how he got on though.

Springbok
September 23rd, 2013, 11:28 AM
Used to use those cases back in the day. That riser card is for a 16 bit ISA Bus.

You could use something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Name-Brand-486-Board-486-System-Board-AT-Style-for-Computer-/261283029741?pt=Motherboards&hash=item3cd5aea2ed

But, you could probably buy a whole system cheaper than putting one together from parts.


Would that board work though with that case? Looking at the slots at the back of the case, they are horizontal. The board you linked looks like it requires vertical slots in the case. Is it just a matter or removing the horizontal slots piece from the back of the case?

Al Hartman
September 23rd, 2013, 11:35 AM
Would that board work though with that case? Looking at the slots at the back of the case, they are horizontal. The board you linked looks like it requires vertical slots in the case. Is it just a matter or removing the horizontal slots piece from the back of the case?

That's what the riser card is for. You plug it into one of the slots and it gives you horizontal slots.

Springbok
September 23rd, 2013, 12:03 PM
Well I hope this will work.... cuz I just bought it... please tell me it will

http://www.ebay.com/itm/171126893229

SpidersWeb
September 23rd, 2013, 12:13 PM
Well I hope this will work.... cuz I just bought it... please tell me it will

http://www.ebay.com/itm/171126893229

It should be fine, but I can't confirm without measurements. You'll find out when it arrives I suspect.

It doesn't seem to have a CPU or any memory in it. So you'll need to order those seperately (I'm lazy, and generally just buy a complete board with CPU and RAM tested/configured).

Also (just so you know), you wont be able to use those nice VLBus slots in a case that uses an ISA riser.
That's not critical, but if you'd planned to run 32bit VLBus graphics etc you wont be able to.

orion24
September 23rd, 2013, 12:29 PM
The board will work. ISA slots are in the same location in every board and the riser should fit in the 1st 16-bit slot on the board (not the 8-bit on top). Any classical AT board will actually fit in this case and work. Non-classical designed will not work, though. Like eg this one: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/IBM-88G4078-6381-MY0-486-Motherboard-FRU-52G7017-/300941698704?pt=UK_Computing_LaptopMotherboards_CP Us_CA&hash=item461185e690

Of course you could use a VLB riser card as well, but not wit this board. It has the VLB slots at the bottom, it should have one in the slot the riser goes into. What you can do of course, is remove the bracket of a VLB card and plug it is as is, without the need of the riser, but that wouldn't look nice.

Al Hartman
September 23rd, 2013, 01:15 PM
I and other members have 486 CPU chips that will work in there. I probably have RAM for it too.

badmofo
September 23rd, 2013, 02:30 PM
Looks like a nice board, but the first thing I'd do is remove that old battery, they can get ugly.

Stone
September 23rd, 2013, 02:52 PM
Excellent suggestion. I've got 8 -10 boards with that kind of barrel battery and every one of them has been ruined by it!

Springbok
September 23rd, 2013, 03:28 PM
Looks like a nice board, but the first thing I'd do is remove that old battery, they can get ugly.

Thanks for the suggestion. Will make sure I do that? Out of curiosity.... what do I replace it with?

Stone
September 23rd, 2013, 03:32 PM
There appears to be a 4 pin external battery connector next to the battery and that would certainly be the easiest way to go.

Springbok
September 23rd, 2013, 03:43 PM
So I see the 4-pin connector.

A couple of questions.

1) So replacing the battery with a new one that is the same is not an option? Is there a design flaw or issue with that particular battery?
2) Where would I get a batter with a 4-pin connector like that?

Stone
September 23rd, 2013, 04:07 PM
1) It's an option. That battery is a NiCad and sooner or later it's gonna leak.

2) Radio Shack (or anywhere) has a four AA battery holder with the correct connector for that header so it's basically plug'n play.

orion24
September 23rd, 2013, 11:00 PM
I personally replace the barrels with a new barrel. So far I've been using non-rechargeable for replacement without any problem, but I can't guarantee their stability in the long run if the board tried to recharge them. It's visuals that make me avoid external batteries.

High_Treason
September 23rd, 2013, 11:44 PM
You could always put a diode between the battery and motherboard to prevent the board charging it.

I'd reccomend doing that in the first place, if the board tries to charge the battery it tends to get hot and you can land up with a mess far worse than the original leaking battery was creating.

Personally, I just use AA batteries now though we don't have holders with connectors, only supplier of holders where I am is Maplin, they cost too much and I ran out of CD cables to make connectors out of so I have to hardwire the thing to the board these days.

orion24
September 24th, 2013, 12:22 AM
You could always put a diode between the battery and motherboard to prevent the board charging it.Hmmm, I'll think about that one

modem7
September 24th, 2013, 12:43 AM
Some internal/external battery information is [here (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/images2/batt_int_ext.jpg)].

Springbok
September 24th, 2013, 04:27 AM
Some internal/external battery information is [here (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/images2/batt_int_ext.jpg)].

Got to love this site.... thanks for the info.

Springbok
September 24th, 2013, 07:43 AM
Sooo.... I don't think the Mobo I bought is a baby AT board. The dimensions are 10"x8.5". Anyone know what case I will need for that?

krebizfan
September 24th, 2013, 09:00 AM
Sounds like you have a NLX motherboard. Small motherboard for small cases from mass market builders.

If you are lucky, you can find an ATX case which also includes mounting points for NLX motherboards. Or find someone that has a broken pizza box system (which is what most NLX systems look like) and replace the motherboard.