PDA

View Full Version : Cheap GB switches

Unknown_K
September 24th, 2013, 04:20 AM
Newegg has TRENDnet TEG-S8g Switch 8-Port Gigabit GREENnet 10/100/1000Mbps for $17.99 shipped so I snagged two of them. Anybody here use them? I have been using 10/100 hubs and switches for 20 years at home, figured it was time to update the network for newer machines while the vintage stuff stays on 3com 10/100 switches.

barythrin
September 24th, 2013, 08:20 AM
Good price! I haven't run their equipment before but I'm sure it'd be fine for general use. The only cheap switches I've really seen screw things up are all in the wifi performance. Typically wired is pretty good as long as you aren't doing any weird packet smashing exercises.

glitch
September 24th, 2013, 07:00 PM
Obviously don't expect features of more expensive, managed switches. I don't think any of my cheap gigabit switches (mostly Netgear 8-port models) even support jumbo frames. As to my experience, the cheap Netgear switches in the blue metal boxes are OK. Much faster than any 100 mbit switch, and if you have cheap, integrated gigabit NICs, you probably won't notice any speed loss at the switch. Even "server" grade cheap-o NICs (Broadcom et al.) won't get near saturating the switch.

Unknown_K
September 24th, 2013, 07:23 PM
I figured it would save time moving large ISO's around between my newer machines and my server in the basement. My broadband cable modem doesn't do more then 1.5MB/sec with this service so even 100Mb Ethernet isn't a major issue.

Old Thrashbarg
September 25th, 2013, 07:49 AM
I've used a few of those Trendnet switches in various places, and they seem to work as well as any other unmanaged switch. My only complaint with 'em is that they use cheap capacitors, but I haven't gotten any of 'em back for repair yet, so I don't know if that'll end up being a problem or not.

Unknown_K
September 26th, 2013, 10:34 PM