PDA

View Full Version : AT lost settings



plana156
October 4th, 2013, 06:50 PM
Hi, I have a 5170 and an everex 159 card fully populated. PC was sitting for a while and lost settings.
need to get new battery. Trying to reset memory and keep getting 201 error
Have tried the setup disk with
all combos
base xms
512 2560 or 3072
640 2560 or 3072

Think dip switches may be off but have tried all settings on EVEREX manual including
memory starting address at 512, 640, 1024 and 1536

Does the repeated memory error at startup indicate bad chips on everex board in a case like this???
Thanks
RLK

NeXT
October 4th, 2013, 07:38 PM
Pull the card and see if the errors go away.

modem7
October 4th, 2013, 07:39 PM
Before you configure the Everex card, you need to know how much 5170 motherboard RAM there is.

* Type 1 motherboard (photo (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/5170/post_errors/5170_motherboard_type_1.jpg)) with one bank of RAM chips (two rows) fitted = 256 KB
* Type 1 motherboard with two banks of RAM chips (four rows) fitted = 512 KB

* Types 2 and 3 motherboards (photo (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/5170/post_errors/5170_motherboard_type_3.jpg)): Only one bank of RAM chips (two rows) possible = 512 KB

So, how much motherboard RAM do you have.

modem7
October 4th, 2013, 08:40 PM
A fully populated Everex EV-159 card ("RAM 3000 Deluxe") holds 3 MB of RAM, a pool of RAM that can be used for various purposes.

Irrespective of whether your 5170 motherboard contains 256 or 512 KB of RAM, ideally, you would want to use some of the 3 MB to 'top up' your base RAM to 640 KB, and then use the balance of the 3 MB as extended memory (IBM called it expansion memory at the time) starting at the 1024 KB address mark.

But, by my reading of the the EV-159 manual (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/manuals.htm), that is not possible. So, configure all 3 MB as extended memory starting at the 1024 KB address mark, per the following:

6 banks of RAM fitted on EV-159: SW2-1=ON, SW2-2=OFF, SW2-3=ON
3 MB of contiguous RAM: SW2-4=ON, SW5-3=ON, SW2-6=OFF, SW2-7=OFF, SW2-8=OFF
Start RAM at 1024 KB address: SW3-2=OFF, SW3-3=OFF, SW3-4=OFF, SW3-5=ON, SW3-6=OFF, SW3-7=OFF, SW3-8=OFF

5170 SETUP

To relect the above, set the base RAM figure to the amount that you determined per post #3, and set the extended (expansion) RAM figure to 3072


If you still get a 201 error after that, then let us know what the full 201 error message is. A breakdown of the 201 error (for an IBM 5170 ) is [here (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/5170/post_errors/5170_post_errors.htm)].

cr1901
October 4th, 2013, 10:08 PM
But, by my reading of the the EV-159 manual (http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/manuals.htm), that is not possible. So, configure all 3 MB as extended memory starting at the 1024 KB address mark, per the following

I can't easily check right now, but a part of me wants to say that, from experience configuring an AST RAMpage 286, it's not possible to leave a 128kB hole in conventional memory and start reserving space in extended memory without the IBM AT complaining.

modem7
October 4th, 2013, 11:15 PM
I can't easily check right now, but a part of me wants to say that, from experience configuring an AST RAMpage 286, it's not possible to leave a 128kB hole in conventional memory and start reserving space in extended memory without the IBM AT complaining.
In my IBM AT (5170), I can remove the IBM 128K RAM card that fills the 512K-640K area, leave the IBM 512K extended RAM card in place, reconfigure the SETUP accordingly (base=512, expansion = 512), and the IBM AT will boot up without error.