PDA

View Full Version : EGA monitor (card?) trouble



romanon
October 16th, 2013, 03:19 AM
Hi, i tried to connect to my new EGA card to monitor but, i have this trouble (attachment).
What kind problem it can be? It is faulty monitor or card? I dont have any else, so i cant test it.

Chuck(G)
October 16th, 2013, 08:56 AM
What kind of monitor is it? Is it rated for EGA use?

Stone
October 16th, 2013, 09:03 AM
Look for a switch on the back that says TTL and set it to TTL.

romanon
October 16th, 2013, 10:55 AM
that monitor is for 9 pin use, so it is for EGA no? If i switch to TTL display become black.

PeterNC
October 16th, 2013, 11:17 AM
Did you test it before you bought / hauled it? Did it work on another machine? I have bought various screens over the years (from basements / free pick up) that turned out to be junk (unfortunately). :)

Compgeke
October 16th, 2013, 11:26 AM
If it's 9 pin it could also be CGA or MDA, they also used the same connector.

What's the model of the monitor?

bear
October 16th, 2013, 01:30 PM
Looks like the kind of display fault that can result from a horizontal frequency mismatch.

Just having a TTL/Analog switch doesn't guarantee the monitor can handle the 21.8 kHz horizontal frequency required for EGA. Most of the other video standards that would've been involved around a TTL/Analog switchable monitor are at or around 15.75 kHz (CGA, Tandy 1000/PCjr, Amiga, Apple IIgs, etc.)

orion24
October 16th, 2013, 01:40 PM
I had a 9 pin monitor that was a VGA. If it is EGA it should say it at the back.

romanon
October 17th, 2013, 12:34 AM
15606 this is back of the monitor, i had no possibility to test monitor or card before...

romanon
October 17th, 2013, 01:57 AM
Success! It was necessary to switch mode to TTL, BUT...I also had to switch TEXT on/off (?) on the controls on the side of monitor. And now, works fine! 15607
Thanks for helping.

BrianS
October 17th, 2013, 11:16 AM
Add the Professional Graphics Controller to the list that used analog out, composite Sync on one pin, all on a 9-pin connector.

EGA is different- some monitors did EGA, PGC, and Analog- such as the Sony multisync monitor.

evildragon
October 17th, 2013, 11:33 AM
Model number please. I don't think we should be guessing at this..

EDIT: Looks like the monitor is called "Octurd" and it has an LED that says "TTL", it is NOT lit.

Stone
October 17th, 2013, 11:42 AM
Model number please. I don't think we should be guessing at this..

EDIT: Looks like the monitor is called "Octurd" and it has an LED that says "TTL", it is NOT lit.Hence my comment:

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?39669-EGA-monitor-(card-)-trouble&p=297810#post297810

evildragon
October 17th, 2013, 11:51 AM
Hence my comment:

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?39669-EGA-monitor-(card-)-trouble&p=297810#post297810

I thought you were referring to the card, not the monitor.

Caluser2000
October 17th, 2013, 03:33 PM
I had a 9 pin monitor that was a VGA. If it is EGA it should say it at the back.The first VGA monitor I owned had a 9 pin connector as well. My current EGA monitor doesn't have anything mentioning it is EGA on the back. It just states it is a colour monitor.

Stone
October 17th, 2013, 03:51 PM
The first VGA monitor I owned had a 9 pin connector as well.What VGA card with 9 pins did that monitor plug into?

Multisyncs have a 9 pin connector. But they require a 9 to 15 pin adapter to use them in analog mode with a VGA card.

Caluser2000
October 17th, 2013, 04:13 PM
Unsure, Orchid or Oak maybe, no vesa support iirc. It was back way way back. Came with my 286 matched with the 14" monitor.

Edit- from memory the monitor cable could be detatched.

BrianS
October 17th, 2013, 06:21 PM
What VGA card with 9 pins did that monitor plug into?

Multisyncs have a 9 pin connector. But they require a 9 to 15 pin adapter to use them in analog mode with a VGA card.

Many of the monitors built to the IBM PGC spec were sold with an adapter to use as a fixed-frequency VGA monitor. The adapter had a 15-pin on one end, 9 pin on the other, and a small convertor in the middle to turn the VGA horizontal and vertical sync to the composite signal used by the PGC monitor. A pot internal to the monitor required a small adjustment to sync up, required taking off the cover and doing while running. Orchid made PGC compatible cards, makes sense they would sell the monitors as well.

vwestlife
October 17th, 2013, 07:26 PM
Model number please. I don't think we should be guessing at this..

EDIT: Looks like the monitor is called "Octurd" and it has an LED that says "TTL", it is NOT lit.

Looks like "Octura" to me... but still not a familiar brand name. Chances are, it was probably made for 15 kHz video only (CGA, Amiga, Atari ST, etc.) and thus does not support EGA in 640x350 mode.

Chuck(G)
October 17th, 2013, 07:28 PM
Looks like we'll never know--user Romanon seems to have posted and disappeared for the nonce.

romanon
October 17th, 2013, 10:30 PM
I dont know where is problem with this forum, my posts are visible the day or later after i had publish it... :(

evildragon
October 22nd, 2013, 12:29 AM
I dont know where is problem with this forum, my posts are visible the day or later after i had publish it... :(

I have never seen that issue.

But in any case, just go ahead and re-post the model numbers. They would benefit us greatly.

Stone
October 22nd, 2013, 03:52 AM
I have never seen that issue.

But in any case, just go ahead and re-post the model numbers. They would benefit us greatly.
No need, it's already been resolved in the OP's post(s) from five days ago:

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?39669-EGA-monitor-(card-)-trouble&p=297924#post297924

Turns out it was a multisync in the wrong mode, after all.

BrianS
October 22nd, 2013, 10:22 AM
I have never seen that issue.

But in any case, just go ahead and re-post the model numbers. They would benefit us greatly.

Replies to threads that contain links posted by new members seem to get deleted.

evildragon
October 22nd, 2013, 10:40 AM
No need, it's already been resolved in the OP's post(s) from five days ago:

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?39669-EGA-monitor-(card-)-trouble&p=297924#post297924

Turns out it was a multisync in the wrong mode, after all.
Wow, that post was NOT there yesterday.

Stone
October 22nd, 2013, 11:31 AM
Wow, that post was NOT there yesterday.The two posts were... but the attached pics took a few days to get 'moderated'. I remember the red x when it was first posted.

evildragon
October 22nd, 2013, 03:34 PM
The two posts were... but the attached pics took a few days to get 'moderated'. I remember the red x when it was first posted.

No, not even his text, the post itself was NOT showing up on my side. I think even Chuck didn't see it, because his post seems to infer he missed it too.

Stone
October 22nd, 2013, 03:41 PM
Maybe ADMIN will help clarify how the moderation delay works.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:32 AM
It's just easier to let the post die in the moderation queue than to post an explanation or notify the member that the post is unacceptable.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:33 AM
Just got another awaiting moderation.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:34 AM
And that one did not have a link in it, so it is keyword based.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:34 AM
Keyword based queue entry.

Got another one.

If you post too many times on the same thread, it goes into the moderation queue.

I do not have enough patience for this forum.

So long, and thanks for the good times.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:36 AM
I never could figure out why a post about an EMC87 on a thread about collecting Fast Math processors was deleted.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:37 AM
I never could figure out why an EMC87 on a htread about collecting Fast Math processors was deleted.

Looks like every other post of mine is going to the Moderation Queue.

BrianS
October 23rd, 2013, 01:38 AM
Yup- automatic moderation queue entry. That makes 5 or so in a row.