PDA

View Full Version : Re-capping power supplies

IBM Portable PC
October 19th, 2013, 03:03 PM
I've over capacitors failing, and the wife is a little tired of the resulting fumes and smoke (usually in the kitchen!). Last night, a tantalum on my shiny new/old 5161 Expansion Unit planer exploded, the resulting pyrotechnic display missing my head by about a foot :dodgeball:

From now on, I'm replacing electrolytic, foil and tantalum capacitors in everything I obtain.:bomb:

This will have the added benefit of reducing ebay purchases as replacing capacitors is not exactly fun, well for me at least. Especially in something like my IBM Portable, the power supply is a nightmare, 3 boards pop riveted to the steel box; I've been putting that job off for about 2 years :fishing:

What do others do? :confused:

Of course I DOI NOT recommend this for those who are not suitably trained/skilled as repairing switch mode power supplies, even when they are not energized, CAN KILL YOU!

Chuck(G)
October 19th, 2013, 05:02 PM
I don't replace caps until they fail. I've got stuff from the 1940s with the original capacitors and they work just fine.

OTOH, the Great Capacitor Plauge of the 1990s has necessitated quite a bit of replacement work.

TheLazy1
October 19th, 2013, 10:11 PM
I have to recap the PSU for my 5162... someday... tomorrow I swear.

Arkady
October 20th, 2013, 03:10 AM
Hello,

Usually, i replace tantalum capacitors with electrolytics capacitors and it works very well.
It's a good idea to short the big capacitors near the power plug of the power supply BEFORE trying to repair it : these nasty cylinders can keep high voltage for a long time, and if you forget it, it might be quite painful...

But i still replace failed tantallum with tantallum onto the old "real" IBM motherboards : i like to keep it original as far as i can... But i can't assure you it's a good idea.