PDA

View Full Version : Your Floppy Disk memory to share?

MrCave
October 27th, 2013, 02:28 PM
I am a 3year graphic design student that at the moment is working in a project around the floppy disk and for that I am looking for people’s memory and stories around the floppy.
All the different sizes.

I can be everything from that disk you lost and found again 10years later, your first program, stories from the offices, strange uses of the floppy.. I can be what every story, funny, sad++++ what ever you can think or remember.

I really appreciate if you got something to share with me for my project.
If you don't for some reason don't want to post it here, you can email them.
t.walskaar (a) students.rave.ac.uk

To share mine I one time gave away Amiga floppy of a game to a friend, when I got I back some week after someone had put cheese in it...lets say I was not happy.

leeb
October 27th, 2013, 04:21 PM
I had an 8" disc with critical info on it, but when in the drive, it would screech and carry on, and be unreadable.
So,
in a fit of desperation, I removed the media from the plastic shell and GINGERLY placed it in position in the open drive, then carefully closed it. I managed to recover EVERY PIECE of data on the flopping piece of plastic, and, once complete...

used it as a coaster.
:D

g4ugm
October 28th, 2013, 02:15 PM
The old IBM Mainframe screen controllers loaded the software from floppy disks. They ran the disk continually. Eventually the disk wore out, when you took it out you could just about see through it!

g4ugm
October 28th, 2013, 02:18 PM
Oh and of course getting Windows/95 on 13 (I think) floppies was a pain. I think OS/2 had more.....

Old Thrashbarg
October 28th, 2013, 02:43 PM
Oh and of course getting Windows/95 on 13 (I think) floppies was a pain.