PDA

View Full Version : Low Level formatting an RLL Disk

NeXT
November 3rd, 2013, 08:32 PM
Normally when I Low-Level Format an MFM drive I hang it off one of my controllers that lets me invoke from the ROM using debug and I'm all set to go. I have a Miniscribe that has repeated issues reading back data I've written and I'm curious if a LLF will do it any good.
I've never done an RLL disk before so is there any additional steps I must take or are there any particular controllers I need to use? If it helps, its a Miniscribe 8438 and no, I don't have anything else to replace it with and I don't particularly want to use the drive at all.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/CGS_0408.jpg

Chuck(G)
November 3rd, 2013, 08:51 PM
Depends somewhat on your controller, but usually there's not a lot of difference when doing an LLF of an MFM or one of an RLL drive. Some controllers will let you format to, say, 25 sectors per track instead of 26, and give you a drive with 25 good sectors per track instead of one with 26 and flaws. Some controllers ask that you explicitly enter the drive geometry.

Stone
November 4th, 2013, 02:43 AM
SpinRite comes to mind and so does SpeedStor.

SomeGuy
November 4th, 2013, 06:08 AM
If the drive is already formatted and DOS partitioned, I would just throw Spinrite at it. On MFM and RLL controllers, Spinrite will automatically perform a low-level format while preserving any data. Also, the problems you describe sound like you may have some "weak" sectors (the kind that look fine and dandy until you actually NEED them :D ). If the low-level format doesn't fix those, SpinRite's extensive pattern testing will detect them and mark the sectors as bad for you. As a bonus it will check drives optimal sector interleave and correct it if needed.

NeXT
November 4th, 2013, 07:27 AM
SpinRite comes to mind and so does SpeedStor.

I don't have local copies of either. I can't ever seem to find the older versions.