PDA

View Full Version : I must be crazy, purchased a modem.



Unknown_K
November 10th, 2013, 11:43 AM
I won an IBM 7857-017 analog modem on Ebay. Not even sure why I wanted a 19.2k model (with LCD) other then it would look cool on one of my PS/2 80 towers. At least it was like $11 shipped, must be going senile.


You can flip a couple wires on a normal phone cord and communicate modem to modem correct (might be a cool way to do a BBS between real old machines).

Erwin-c64
November 10th, 2013, 11:57 AM
Get another one, a home phone-exchange and call another pc to play doom multiplayer. Should work!

Stone
November 10th, 2013, 12:16 PM
Got a box fulla' modems. How many do ya' want?

Unknown_K
November 10th, 2013, 12:29 PM
I have quite a few myself, even externals, not none of the cool ones with LCD menu nor IBM.

Being old enough to have lived through the BBS days I always found the oddball 16.8K/19.2K modems the big BBS used when the rest of us had to use 9600 baud were interesting. Those modems were all external with a LCD readout.

Ole Juul
November 10th, 2013, 12:29 PM
I must be crazy, purchased a modem.

Naw. Right on track!


Got a box fulla' modems. How many do ya' want?
I also gotta box fulla thems. :) I think modems are very collectible since they are the key item in developing the computer communications revolution. My preference is for internals, but I've got a couple of leased line ones with LCD display and fancy features like line testing routines.

PS: I doubt I'll ever get my Cardinal 2400 internal (in my sig). What model Cardinal was it you had Stone?

gerrydoire
November 10th, 2013, 12:43 PM
We are all here cause we are un-well :)

k2x4b524[
November 10th, 2013, 01:00 PM
well, if you really had to, in a pinch you could always get netzero's dial up and have fun....

http://www.netzero.net/start/landing.do?page=www/free/index

Surprised they even still offer this...

As for doom multiplayer, a serial cable would work great for that for some one on one..

Chuck(G)
November 10th, 2013, 01:20 PM
Being old enough to have lived through the BBS days I always found the oddball 16.8K/19.2K modems the big BBS used when the rest of us had to use 9600 baud were interesting. Those modems were all external with a LCD readout.

One of the most frequently used one, the USR Courier, stayed with LEDs for the entire series--and they were not cheap.

Stone
November 10th, 2013, 01:38 PM
Ole, a it's plain vanilla Cardinal 2400.

NeXT
November 10th, 2013, 03:16 PM
Didn't we conclude that those wern't Hayes Compatible? What are you going to do with it?

MikeS
November 10th, 2013, 03:36 PM
PS: I doubt I'll ever get my Cardinal 2400 internal (in my sig). What model Cardinal was it you had Stone?I'll have a look as well; most of the modems I bought (and sold) in the day were Cardinals. What's so special about that one?

Ole Juul
November 10th, 2013, 04:16 PM
I'll have a look as well; most of the modems I bought (and sold) in the day were Cardinals. What's so special about that one?

It has my three favourite features:

1/ internal
2/ 2400
3/ Cardinal
4/ MNP

:)

NeXT
November 10th, 2013, 07:54 PM
I absolutely love ATI and the older Hayes modems. Their build quality was completely top notch.
The tiny little Supra modems are also really cute to use with things like macs. I ended up painting one black because it worked so well with a NeXT system.

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/CGS_0161.jpg

Shadow Lord
November 10th, 2013, 09:03 PM
Didn't we conclude that those wern't Hayes Compatible? What are you going to do with it?

Did we? I am still hoping the damn things are! ;) Actually some of the later models are Hayes compatible. Not sure about OP's particular model...

Ole Juul
November 10th, 2013, 10:17 PM
Did we? I am still hoping the damn things are! ;) Actually some of the later models are Hayes compatible. Not sure about OP's particular model...

I fired up a 7855-10 a while back, and as I recall I was able to use it. For the life of me, I can't remember about the AT commands. However, I must have typed something in order to make it dial. The old thread is here (http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/archive/index.php/t-28357.html). There's also one on eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-7855-10-Dial-Up-External-Modem-V120-/281048805906) if somebody feels like having a modem adventure. (Mike B?) I also brought up the subject of the Paradyne 3440 leased line modem here (http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?16065-Paradyne-3440-modem), but nobody jumped.

I'm not going to research the IBM 7857-017 right now, but it looks like there is a lot of info out there. I'm looking forward to hearing about it here. :)

Unknown_K
November 10th, 2013, 10:42 PM
I wonder if Telix or Procomm would have the init strings for them.

Shadow Lord
November 10th, 2013, 11:01 PM
I fired up a 7855-10 a while back, and as I recall I was able to use it. For the life of me, I can't remember about the AT commands. However, I must have typed something in order to make it dial. The old thread is here (http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/archive/index.php/t-28357.html). There's also one on eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/IBM-7855-10-Dial-Up-External-Modem-V120-/281048805906) if somebody feels like having a modem adventure. (Mike B?) I also brought up the subject of the Paradyne 3440 leased line modem here (http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?16065-Paradyne-3440-modem), but nobody jumped.

I'm not going to research the IBM 7857-017 right now, but it looks like there is a lot of info out there. I'm looking forward to hearing about it here. :)

Thanks for that bit of info. I may have to try it out on my 7868-047s (http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/showthread.php?38849-Help-please-with-an-IBM-7868-047-Modem) and see if it does anything.

Ole Juul
November 11th, 2013, 12:02 AM
I wonder if Telix or Procomm would have the init strings for them.

Perhaps it's already set up for normal use.

Ole Juul
November 11th, 2013, 12:57 AM
I couldn't help myself, and had to have a look around. :) This device will do both asynchronous and full duplex. The asynchronous could be cool t play with if you have another one. Anyway, this UofA document (http://www.ualberta.ca/dept/chemeng/AIX-43/share/modems/modem_m1.cfg) is probably not that interesting, but it does mention AT&F (factory setting) so it looks like there is indeed some AT command functionality.

MikeS
November 11th, 2013, 07:06 AM
I couldn't help myself, and had to have a look around. :) This device will do both asynchronous and full duplex. The asynchronous could be cool t play with if you have another one... Did you mean 'synchronous'? Don't pretty well all modems do async and full duplex?

facattack
November 11th, 2013, 07:26 AM
What were those really old modems that you used a handset phone with???

Doug G
November 11th, 2013, 08:48 AM
What were those really old modems that you used a handset phone with???I used to carry around an AK 300 baud coupler as part of my test equipment/spares.

https://www.google.com/search?q=anderson+jacobson+acoustic+coupler&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

Doug G
November 11th, 2013, 08:52 AM
Did you mean 'synchronous'? Don't pretty well all modems do async and full duplex?Not in the early days. Most early modems were half-duplex and a genuine PITA to troubleshoot. There were also synchronous-only modems available from Bell. This was in the pre-1200 baud full-duplex days of modems, i.e., early 70's

facattack
November 11th, 2013, 01:34 PM
Purty....

Ole Juul
November 11th, 2013, 02:24 PM
Did you mean 'synchronous'? Don't pretty well all modems do async and full duplex?

I guess they do. The IBM docs always seem to make pains to describe how to set that up though. I'm guessing that in the IBM modem world of that day it was not the default. I had to go into mine and specifically set that up in order to get it to work for me.

But yes, I was actually thinking that 'synchronous' might be interesting to play with. :)

Unknown_K
November 13th, 2013, 03:42 PM
Modem came in, They included an IBM P/N 89G2606 E.C. C75345 dongle from 1996. That's some kind of terminator?

Not sure when I will get around to hooking this thing up since I have a few laptops I am currently cleaning and working on.