PDA

View Full Version : Identifying 300GL

FractalFX
November 29th, 2013, 10:57 AM
Hey guys!

I'm about to purchase a IBM 300GL computer, but I'm not sure what processor it has.
The seller has no idea (he is in fact selling it for 9 including a monitor and KB/mouse so I guess he doesn't even care) what processor the computer has. The description says "ibm 300 gl pentium mmx processor celeron 266 mhz 256 mb ram" so I don't know if it is a Pentium MMX or a Celeron.

Here is a picture of the computer:
http://gyazo.com/9bf35bb861d752e925c5df559ce6ae55.png

There is also a picture of the computer running Windows 7, so my guess is that it is a Celeron?

Also it says that it's got a Cirrus Logic GPU, a Creative sound card, USB and RJ45.

I'm really no expert in computers from before 2006, so I really don't know which processor it has. :ashamed2:
(Even though I don't think a MMX can handle USB and Win7...?)

Cheers and thanks.

Caluser2000
November 29th, 2013, 11:05 AM
There should be a model no. on a sticker recessed on the front somewhere IIRC.

orion24
November 29th, 2013, 06:19 PM
There is also a picture of the computer running Windows 7, so my guess is that it is a Celeron?

???
Windows 7 minimum requirements are well above what this system has, in terms of CPU, GPU, RAM and even storage size. It might still run in a way, in theory, but it is very weird.
BTW, it looks like a Celeron 266. Otherwise, it wouldn't say that. Pentium and MMX became more general names and the Celeron does support MMX.

NeXT
November 29th, 2013, 06:30 PM
The Celeron 266 existed however it was no speed demon, nor was it ever really a good chip.

krebizfan
November 29th, 2013, 08:16 PM
The 300GL covers a wide range of machines with CPUs ranging from Pentium (no suffix 133MHz) to Pentium III. If you can find the exact submodel number, printed on the back, Lenovo will likely have the matching manual in PDF on their website. They were nice if unremarkable systems.