PDA

View Full Version : What size HD is in your main machine?

Unknown_K
December 12th, 2013, 08:20 PM
Just curious what you guys are using for HDs on your main machine (OS and app drive not a dump drive).

I have been using a 250GB drive for a few years and recently swapped it for a 1TB HD. Seems like 1TB drives are super cheap at $55 or so shipped.

My largest dump drive is 4TB used for videos mostly, have a 2TB one I got a few years back still in use as well. Old gaming machines get the older 120-320GB HDs (mostly IDE and a few SATA). I think the 2TB model was before hard drive prices spiked.

Anybody still using old IDE drives as their main HD?

Compgeke
December 12th, 2013, 09:26 PM
I'm using a 500 GB Western Digital Blue SATA drive in my desktop.

I have a 160 GB Hitatchi 7.2k SATA drive in my laptop. I always run out of space on it however I don't have anything to replace it with at the moment.

Tor
December 12th, 2013, 09:44 PM
My desktop machine has a 350GB "system" disk and a 4TB disk for the rest (/home among that). It's not a "dump" disk, but I do keep a /mirror area there where I mirror stuff from the net just in case. But the other reason it's so large is that I process satellite data, and I also have a bunch of VMs running (clones of customer's systems) which need large data areas too. I expect to need more capacity in the not so far future.

-Tor

Ole Juul
December 12th, 2013, 11:21 PM
I've been using a 500GB disk for some time. My new computer, which I hope to be using for a long time, uses a Western Digital Black - WD5002AALX 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5".