PDA

View Full Version : Genoa EGA DIP switch settings



romanon
December 18th, 2013, 04:10 AM
Hi, i have this EGA card, http://www.vgamuseum.info/index.php/component/content/article/271-genoa-gn006001-a
It have 6 positional DIP switch, does anyone setting options of this switch? Thanks

RJBJR
December 18th, 2013, 07:31 PM
Could be this one http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/graphics-cards/E-H/GENOA-SYSTEMS-CORPORATION-Monochrome-CGA-EGA-VGA-S-61.html

Or probably this one http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/graphics-cards/E-H/GENOA-SYSTEMS-CORPORATION-EGA-SUPEREGA-HIRES-MODEL.html
because the switch location is nearer to the switch location on the pic you referenced.

Both of these have jumpers located in different locations than the pic you referenced.

romanon
December 18th, 2013, 11:50 PM
ok, thanks, it seems to be the second one, but without switching JMP3...interesting that in the CGA mode system reports only 16 kilobytes of memory, but when EGA 256 kilobytes

RJBJR
December 19th, 2013, 10:36 AM
That sounds right, CGA uses 16k and EGA uses up to 256k if available. That video card was high end hardware and probably quite expensive.