PDA

View Full Version : HP Processor Board 82321



inakito
January 13th, 2014, 04:25 AM
Hi.
Recently I have bought an old HP Processor 82321. This board was used on PCs to provide a 68000 environment to run HP Basic.
I got the two install disks on hpmuseum.net and have read the few documentation I have found. But have been unable to install the software.
It complains about no space on target disk, no drivers installed, etc... Running basic.exe gives several errors related to missing drivers.

Has anyone some experience with this board ?

inakito.

tingo
January 13th, 2014, 10:50 AM
Interesting. Where did you buy it? (if you don't mind me asking)
Is this an ISA card?
Have you seen this: ftp://ftp.agilent.com/pub/mpusup/pc/old/vp_over.html
From that document:
The software component consisted mainly of a DOS software emulator that ran on the PC and provided the VIPER with access to display, mass-storage, keyboard, serial I/O, and printer.

inakito
January 13th, 2014, 11:46 AM
I bought it from a surplus seller, although the board is brand new. (it did cost 35-USD plus shipping).
Yes, it is an ISA card. You can see a picture of the board on hpmuseum.net (the Australian site). It is a whole 68000 computer in a single board (with 1MB of RAM upgradable upto 4MB).
I have finally been able to install the software. The problem was the first diskette image I used was wrong (teledisk images). I used I new image and installed fine.
The board is working fine too. Although it a full length ISA board, I have been able to place the board on a Compaq Portable 486C, which, I believe, converts it in one of the smaller HP-Basic computer controllers I know of!:-).
The HP-Basic version is not the latest on the planet but it is pretty "advanced" for its age (version 5.0). I use the latest HTBasic on my Windows-PC and it is very similar.

inakito
January 15th, 2014, 01:45 PM
16871

tingo
January 20th, 2014, 03:20 PM
Fantastic! Now all you need is stack (or a rack) of HP-IB controlled instruments, and you have a fun system to work with.

inakito
January 28th, 2014, 10:22 AM
It happens that i do own a lot of GPIB instruments. Usually i use C over Windows and a NI GPIB USB interface, but using HP basic from a genuine HPcontroller is much more fun!

tingo
January 30th, 2014, 02:40 PM
Indeed. At my first job, we had a really nice ATS (automated test station) for testing communication radios. IT had a HP 9826 / 9836 (I can't remember which), a rack of instruments and a "robot" part where stepper motors was used to operate the controls on the radio. All driven by RMB from the HP. As it came (the ATS was built by an external vendor) it didn't do a stellar job, but my radio-repairing colleagues soon had modified the supplied test programs so that the ATS performed very well. On "trick" I remember was how you operated the frequency / channel selectors on the radios; they were rotary knobs and if you just turned to the correct position on an old radio it would happen that it wouldn't make good contact in that position. Easy solution: rotate one step more and then back again.

The ATS wasn't necessarily quicker on a test than a human (well, it didn't have coffee breaks), but it scored very high on repeatability. And it produced nice test reports. :-)
Fun times!

Unfortinately, this was before digital cameras, so I don't think I have any photos of it.

bear
January 31st, 2014, 02:30 PM
IIRC only the last revision of this hardware and the later revision of the software required to drive it are actually capable of working on an arbitrary PC Clone (i.e. not an HP Vectra). The earliest ones are even limited by which particular model of HP Vectra PC they will work in.

bear
January 31st, 2014, 02:30 PM
Never mind, I see you got it working after all.

inakito
January 31st, 2014, 05:01 PM
Actually i am not the first one to have used a Compaq Portable with this board. In the HP Basic 6.2 manual there is a specific mention about compatibility with the plasma display found on earlier Compaq Portable machines. So, at that time someone already was using this machine to work with the processor board.

Now am looking for the 82360A GPIO board which attachs to the processor board. But have found none. Was able to find one in Ebay Australia but the seller could not find the board! If anyone has one for sale, please let me know.

gslick
February 12th, 2014, 09:31 AM
Now am looking for the 82360A GPIO board which attachs to the processor board. But have found none. Was able to find one in Ebay Australia but the seller could not find the board! If anyone has one for sale, please let me know.

You missed this one which sold back in December. That one was listed for a few months before it finally sold. I was tempted to buy it myself but never did.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/360666882510

I have 2 of the 82321 boards and 2 of the improved version 82324 boards.

inakito
February 13th, 2014, 08:21 AM
I spot that one too on eBay, but the seller removed it from sale at the last moment. I asked for it but was not available.
I have recently bought one 82324 Rev B. I did not know that both boards could be fitted at the same time; up to three boards can be fitted at the same time!. You can have them running at the same time on different programs while you work with DOS! Pretty impressive isn't it?
BTW, I performed some speed checks comparisons between both boards running the same program and the 82324 is more than twice faster than the 82321.

gslick
February 13th, 2014, 08:56 AM
Have you tried running PASCAL on your boards? It looks interesting but I haven't tried installing it yet. Without giving it a try it is not obvious how you would go about installing it. Only one of the disks is labeled in MS-DOS format and the rest are in LIF format.

http://hpmuseum.net/display_item.php?sw=395

inakito
February 13th, 2014, 01:35 PM
Actually I did try the Pascal disk images. But was unable to install it on my system because, except the first diskette all of them are LIFT. I did not find a way to convert these images to physical diskettes!:-(
Other than this , I have found there is no much information on HP Pascal. I only found one manual about installation and a brief reference guide. I may be wrong but, was Pascal actually used in HP control systems?

inakito
February 14th, 2014, 04:22 AM
Apparently the way to install it is, first copy the floppy 6, labeled as "CopyMe" to your hard disk.
Then enter the command BOOT.EXE. If you try HPWMain.EXE it complains about 'system not booted' so it seems BOOT.exe is the first thing to do.

When you invoke Boot.exe the Pascal engine starts, detects some components (somewhat like HP Basic does) and then pauses and asks for "SYSTEM" diskette.
In the set of diskettes there is one labeled "SYSVOL" so I would guess it is asking for this one.

I did a Teledisk copy of image CP12.TD0 "SYSVOL" to a 3.5 diskette (although the image comes from a 5.25 low density disk i did not have a 5.25 floppy drive avaiable).

Then the Pascal boot system reads the floppy and shows the following error:

:HP9122 RMV 1500,0,0
Read Error

So, apparently it cannot read the contents of the disk, probably because it is not a low density diskette? I don't know.

gslick
February 14th, 2014, 06:37 AM
I'll have to try the Pascal software install from 5.25 disks. Might take a bit to get that setup. I need to tinker with the boards anyway. The second 82321 board I have I only recently acquired and I haven't tried it yet. Plus I bought some DRAM chips to install on the 82321 boards to bring them both up to the 4MB max from their current 1.5MB

tingo
February 14th, 2014, 01:22 PM
Wow, this thread is a treasurechest of interesting info. Thanks everyone!

inakito
February 16th, 2014, 12:23 PM
More on running Pascal on the coprocessor board...
I have taken a look at the HP/200 Emulator (hpmuseum.net) and I have found the 'system' disk is not 'Sysvol' , but the diskette labeled as 'Boot' (diskette 3 of 12).
You must run in first place the CONF.EXE utility and check you first drive is pointing to your floppy drive so you know it is used as LIF. As for emulation I have selected "9836 Combined" mode. There others to chose from but I have not checked them.
This mode does not work with the 82324. It works only with 82321. Probably the Pascal diskettes set is different for the 82324.
Then you need to run Pascal.BAT, sorry I missed this one!, not Boot.exe as I stated in my previous post.
This time the System loaded fine but.... it crashes some seconds later.:-(
Probably the system file does not load well. Perhaps using 5.25 diskettes would be a better idea. Another thing to check would be copying the LIF files to DOS diskettes using LIFUTIL, but I have been unable to complete this step. Again, probably a 5.25 floppy drive would help.
It would be great to find the Pascal images in 3.5 floppy format.

john56
May 1st, 2014, 10:32 PM
Hi,
I am looking around to get a refurbished 82324 card. Care to let me know where to find it? Thanks in advance
You missed this one which sold back in December. That one was listed for a few months before it finally sold. I was tempted to buy it myself but never did.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/360666882510

I have 2 of the 82321 boards and 2 of the improved version 82324 boards.

greif
May 7th, 2014, 12:28 PM
Any of you folks want to sell 82324 Super viper card? I have a data gathering system using the 82321, but would like to speed it up. I am not sure which part might be the slowest- but the Viper is one of 3 parts.

gslick
February 14th, 2015, 09:26 PM
I spot that one too on eBay, but the seller removed it from sale at the last moment. I asked for it but was not available.


Reviving a year old thread...

This 82306A GPIO listing ended over a year ago, on Dec 20, 2013:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/360666882510

I had watched that listing for at least a couple of months and somewhat regretted not buying it while it was still available.

Now a year later I spent the last couple of days getting an 82321A (or maybe the sticker actually says 82321C) set up again in a new vintage system and happened to check eBay and noticed another 82306A GPIO board listing from the same seller.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/281557879632
The pictures are different from the previous listing, but the "15187-48" number hand written in marker on the board looks the same. That is curious if the board actually sold the first time around. I wonder if it wasn't actually sold, or if it was sold and then returned, or if it is actually a different board but the pictures were reused? Anyway, I went ahead and bought the 82306A GPIO board today. When it arrives in a few days I'll have to figure out how to test it and make sure it actually works, and then see if I can figure out anything interesting to do with it.

I also got Pascal booting on my 82321, from floppy at least. I haven't been able to figure how how to copy the BOOT disk to the PC hard drive so I can run without floppies. I haven't tried to run anything other than ACCESS:FILER and SETUP:INSTALL yet after booting.