PDA

View Full Version : Autocad request/question!



pl85
August 24th, 2006, 06:10 PM
hi! i have an 286, and CAD software is my fascination. I only have the AutoCAD 286 (version 2.17), but i would want to have the earliest possible (maybe autocad 8086... or something like that)... does anybody has it?

- Also i got a question... can AutoCAD R10 run in my computer?? and R11??? and R12?? Thank you!

Computer Collector
August 24th, 2006, 06:33 PM
I never even heard of this version 2 you have!

I am an AutoCad expert, but I can not answer this question!

EvanK
August 24th, 2006, 09:20 PM
I doubt you can run R10 or R11. I started using those versions in about 1992/1993 and they ran very slowly on 386s and early 486s. You definitely can't run R12 because that requires the 486's math coprocessor.

I don't know about the Unix versions.

I have a few R10/11/12 books that I'm looking to sell if you are interested. Contact me off-list please at evan (at) snarc.net ...

Chris2005
August 25th, 2006, 12:42 PM
I don't know what exactly it was I had back in 1989, version 9 or 10 for sure. Whichever of those 2, it will run on a 286, possibly even an 8088. The company I worked for didn't have anything else. I had thought it was 10, but possibly it was version 9.

fxg
August 25th, 2006, 02:20 PM
You can find AutoCAD R12 here (http://vetusware.com/download/AutoCAD%20386%20R-12%20INTERNATIONAL/?id=3317), but I doubt it'll work; I think it requires the 387 coprocessor. But you can give it a shot ;)

EDIT - some interesting info about all AutoCAD releases here (http://betaprograms.autodesk.com/history/area51.htm); no downloads, but it's interesting if you're into AutoCAD :)

Luke
August 25th, 2006, 02:58 PM
My dad is designer and worked with AutoDesk tools and he still do.
I'll ask him for that early versions.

As we started from 286 computer, he ropably won't remember the 8088 versions.
Some time ago he brought me full pack of 386 AutoCad on 1,44 floppies, haven't tried it yet.

Would be nice to get relase 9, add a co-processor to IBM XT and play with AutoCad.
I know a little of basics ;).

rmay635703
August 25th, 2006, 06:22 PM
Actually the first version of autocad is autocad Version 1.0 release 1 I have the printer disk for it which isn't readable. I have been looking for a working release one for a while.

The thing that gets people confused is when autocad would put a big old 386 or 286 on the package that supersedes the smaller version 2.03 or whatever was the true version, also the 386 version does run on a 286 but had extra code for a speed enhancement/memory enhancement on the 386 and there is a site that discusses all the versions and releases.

The most confusing part is the fact that once autocad got up to version 2.6 ?? (I think) You then jumped to release 9, reason being it was the 9th edition even though it wasn't really version 9.

Hope I didn't confuse you too much.

This site explains the different versions a little

http://betaprograms.autodesk.com/history/version_1460_40release_141_history.htm

Terry Yager
August 25th, 2006, 06:58 PM
At one time, I did have a copy of AutoDesk that would run on an XT, etc, but I donated it to a blind guy who was interested in learning it. I do recall that it required a NPU to run on an 8086/8...

--T

dreddnott
August 25th, 2006, 07:33 PM
I hope you sold him a Braille monitor as well....

pl85
August 26th, 2006, 10:59 AM
people.. i've tried to install ACAD R12 in my 80286 few minutes ago... and this is the result:

"Autocad 386 requires 80386 or 80486 processor. You are running an 80286 processor. Press any key to return to the system"...




:(

Luke
August 26th, 2006, 11:49 AM
My father only remember ACAD10 running on our 80286 with monochrome Hercules display.

So it will propably run on your machine.

Computer Collector
August 31st, 2006, 09:14 PM
try installing it in the computer you are using right now