PDA

View Full Version : Timex Sinclair 1500 - No Video

directive0
March 28th, 2014, 08:30 AM
Hi there,

I just got this TS 1500, and I'm trying to get it working but I'm new to computers of this era so I need some advice.

Using a multimeter here is what I know:

-The power supply provides 9 Volts.
-The computer exhibits voltages internally, which (perhaps naively) suggests to me that the internal powersupply is functioning.

When I plug the computer into my >40" Samsung LED TV through RCA cable I get no signal; no change or static, just black. Tv says "weak or no signal". Using a NES coaxial adapter (just cause I had it lying around, I didn't think it would work) I get intermittent static on channel 2, unplugging the adapter changes the static. This forces me to assume that there is a video signal being produced, it's just too weak for my TV.

I am pretty confident with modifications (soldering, etc) and have tried looking around for how to mod this computer for Composite video like the zx80 or the zx Spectrum, but I can't find anything specific.

I am seeking advice from experienced users, or links to pages I may have missed.

Thanks in advance for the patience with my noobetry, and any assistance you can provide.

deathshadow
March 29th, 2014, 12:03 AM
Silly question -- where are you? Are you trying to plug a PAL into NTSC or vice-versa? Don't suppose you tried channels 3 or 4?

jltursan
March 31st, 2014, 07:25 AM
Also try setting the bright control to the max and check if you can see what you type. Some ULAs are know to generate a incompatible signal (very dark display is the symptom).

directive0
April 4th, 2014, 07:30 AM
Okay, so I'm in Canada (NTSC?).