PDA

View Full Version : Using an SD card on 286 Computer



barney
April 14th, 2014, 02:00 AM
I hear it's possible but I don't understand how to configure the BIOS for an SD card. When I install a hard drive, I have to enter all that typical info: # of heads, etc. If I use an IDE to SD adapter to hook up an SD card, what info would I enter for the drive info?

Barney

paul.brett
April 14th, 2014, 02:44 AM
Usually, pretty much anything works, as long as the capacity matches.

barney
April 15th, 2014, 07:42 PM
That makes sense. I'll give it a shot. Thanks.

profdc9
April 25th, 2014, 07:28 PM
I hear it's possible but I don't understand how to configure the BIOS for an SD card. When I install a hard drive, I have to enter all that typical info: # of heads, etc. If I use an IDE to SD adapter to hook up an SD card, what info would I enter for the drive info?

Barney

You could try this code I wrote to interface the SD card through the parallel port...

Dan