PDA

View Full Version : Wierd Amstrad PC1512 Priblem

Phil Saunders
May 25th, 2014, 08:58 AM
Hi, everyone - newbie here.

Been reading this forum for a while now - until I found this I thought I was the only one with an interest in this ancient hardware.....

I'd be really grateful if anyone could help me out!

My problem is - I've recently un-earthed a PC1512 - complete with box, manuals, system disks and everything - only strange thing is that both floppy drives have been replaced with non-Amstrad versions (still 360K, but one is a Chinnon, and the other is a Sharp).

The system works exactly as it should - both drives can be accessed, both will read/write/format, and the disks produced are readable by both drives, and other machines.

Now for the problems -

1) If I boot to MS-DOS (as opposed to DOSPLUS) and use the DISKCOPY command, the target disk is unuseable. The copy completes successfully, but a DIR of the target disk displays a single filename consisting of garbage characters (although it's the same garbage every time), and the free space remaining on the disk is different to the source disk. This occurs whether I use both drives, (DISKCOPY A: B: ) or a single drive (DISKCOPY A: A: )

2) If I install a hard drive controller, the machine will not boot MS-DOS (which means I can't FDISK a hard drive). This is caused by the presence of the controller, NOT the drive. To prove this, I installed JUST the controller (no drive). I got the expected 1701 POST error, followed by the expected 'Insert a system disk' message. If I use a DOSPLUS boot disk, the system boots. If I use an MS-DOS disk (3 tried, including the one that boots without the HD controller) the system just hangs - spins the disk, but no boot, and no error messages. If the disk is removed, however, the system immediately asks for a system disk ........

A bit embarrassing really - I used to install these professionally when they were new - but this has really got me stumped.