PDA

View Full Version : What do you think about the new Pentum processor.



facattack
May 26th, 2014, 05:39 AM
I used to have a Dell Inspiron desktop PC with Pentum inside. It was a 660. I think the processor was quad core. They sell for like 500 bucks. Unfortuantely mine was stolen.

My idea I had was to put together a custom build computer, but cheaper than what you see online at these stores that do gaming PC customs. I just need to run LOTRO and UO, maybe get back into WOW. A middle-ground PC.

Uniballer
May 26th, 2014, 07:48 AM
I have a server system running RedHat that has a Pentium G860 CPU. It's a dual core Sandy Bridge-generation LGA 1155 CPU that clocks at 3 GHz and has 3 MB of L2 cache. It's fine for my purpose. It's almost as fast as the I3-2120, but was a bit cheaper.

If you go with a newer LGA 1150 board then you will find the Celeron G1610 and G18x0 fit about the same market niche. Google for reviews and benchmarks if you need them.

facattack
May 26th, 2014, 09:11 AM
I'm wondering if someone "local" to me can help me build an inexpensive PC. Someone who has a computer shop or something. Maybe dual core. The CPU I had had 3 GHz as well. My price range is below six hundred.

I have two internal hard drives that came from a desktop. I will have to sort their contents out.... I'm not all hip to this Solid State Drive idea that has come up recently. I'm going to probably look into some sort of cloud computing service to host my files. Google drive doesn't let me in because I can't recall my password and can't get a sms message from an old smart phone.

Another idea I had was gonna get a laptop and tablet to be used in conjunction with a mobile hotspot. Any recommendations for such a thing?

I really have no idea what to think when it comes tto wireless tech and android. My ideal situation would be to use some smartphones or such that can link together. I'll leave the computer at home and do computing remotely.

GottaLottaStuff
May 26th, 2014, 02:20 PM
You could pick up a dual core Dell from Craigslist. Just make sure to get one with a PCI-e video card slot, and then put a gaming video card in it. Just don't go overboard with it, the power supply will only go so far. System requirements for LOTRO are: O.S.: Windows® XP/Vista; Processor: Intel Pentium® 4 2.8 GHz or equivalent; RAM: 1GB; Video: 128MB NVIDIA GeForce® 6800 or ATI® Radeon® X850; Disk Space: 10GB available; DirectX: DirectX® 9.0c; Optical Drive: 2X DVD ROM; Connection: Broadband DSL/Cable.

Unknown_K
May 26th, 2014, 03:14 PM
My craigslists has machines priced higher then ebay. Why not snag something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Optiplex-755-Tower-Core-2-Quad-6600-2-40GHz-4GB-250GB-DVD-ROM-Desktop-PC-/161313092616

Faster then what you had, you just need a gaming video card ($30 or so), and it won't cost more then the BIN price (most likely lower).

facattack
May 29th, 2014, 08:26 AM
Do II have to use Dell, though? And I was looking at LOTRO.COM and they recommend a 64bit system for running the game. I may even be interested in playing Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 1 & 2. I played the first one on PS3 but sadly my PS3 and games were stolen as well.

So far, I have had a pentium III Gateway, Dell Dimension 4600, and Dell Dimension E520. I"m currently surfing the internet over a Linux install of Ubuntu on the e520 and can't seem to find a way I understand to upgrade the browser.

krebizfan
May 29th, 2014, 09:36 AM
You don't have to use a Dell but Dell makes so many units that it easy to find a recent Dell used system.

Any Core2 or later will be a 64-bit CPU. The drawback is that you might need to buy a 64-bit copy of Windows completely wiping out the savings of buying a used computer. Another problem for buying Core2 systems is that the motherboard generally can have a maximum of 8GB and the DDR2 memory required isn't as cheap as DDR3 now.

Castlevania:LOS2 has a recommendation for a quad-core CPU (2.66 GHz so the Q6600 is a tad slow) and a roughly $100 video card (GTX 460). You might be able to get away with less but can't save very much before the game becomes unplayable.

Unknown_K
May 29th, 2014, 02:37 PM
The cheapest DELL Alienware X51 gaming desktop is $699 without a monitor, will be cheaper around Christmas if you are not in a rush.

k2x4b524[
May 31st, 2014, 09:50 PM
If he has a key for a particular version of windows 7 for example, you can obtain the ISO file LEGALLY, and use that key. I've done this when I lost my copy of ultimate 7 but had the case with key sticker on it. the key should work for either 32 or 64 bit versions. just don't use it more than once, MS will complain if you do that


You don't have to use a Dell but Dell makes so many units that it easy to find a recent Dell used system.

Any Core2 or later will be a 64-bit CPU. The drawback is that you might need to buy a 64-bit copy of Windows completely wiping out the savings of buying a used computer. Another problem for buying Core2 systems is that the motherboard generally can have a maximum of 8GB and the DDR2 memory required isn't as cheap as DDR3 now.

Castlevania:LOS2 has a recommendation for a quad-core CPU (2.66 GHz so the Q6600 is a tad slow) and a roughly $100 video card (GTX 460). You might be able to get away with less but can't save very much before the game becomes unplayable.

SpidersWeb
May 31st, 2014, 10:32 PM
Any Core2 or later will be a 64-bit CPU. The drawback is that you might need to buy a 64-bit copy of Windows completely wiping out the savings of buying a used computer.

You only need to purchase the 64 bit version of Windows if you want access to more than 4Gb of memory.

Agent Orange
June 1st, 2014, 04:41 AM
The drawback is that you might need to buy a 64-bit copy of Windows completely wiping out the savings of buying a used computer.
.

32-bit windows will run just fine on most 64-bit processors.

Stone
June 1st, 2014, 05:00 AM
32-bit windows will run just fine on most 64-bit processors.??? What's the point of getting 64-bit hardware if you're only going to run 32-bit software? And, if you have 8 MB of ram in this machine the OS will only see 4 MB. Doesn't seem to make much sense.

Caluser2000
June 1st, 2014, 05:50 AM
??? What's the point of getting 64-bit hardware if you're only going to run 32-bit software? And, if you have 8 MB of ram in this machine the OS will only see 4 MB. Doesn't seem to make much senseHah? Yip 4 megs of ram on a 64 bit system is a bit odd alright :p I'm certainly no expert in modern stuff but 8megs of ram might be a bit of a tight squeeze as well....

Agent Orange
June 1st, 2014, 06:20 AM
??? What's the point of getting 64-bit hardware if you're only going to run 32-bit software? And, if you have 8 MB of ram in this machine the OS will only see 4 MB. Doesn't seem to make much sense.

Excluding the CPU what 64-bit hardware are you talking about? I don't have any 'hardware' on any of my machines that is specifically 64-bit. Some folks like 32-bit windows for compatibility sake and the 4 GB RAM windows limit is just fine. If you buy W7/W8 most packaging comes with both 32 & 64 bit disks anyway, and allows you to go either way or upgrade as you please.

Unknown_K
June 1st, 2014, 09:54 AM
Actually depending on the video card RAM you will see much less then 4GB on a 32 bit OS.

krebizfan
June 1st, 2014, 01:06 PM
Or if one enables PAE, 32-bit OSes can use more than 4GB. Isn't flexibility great?

Unknown_K
June 1st, 2014, 03:19 PM
Or if one enables PAE, 32-bit OSes can use more than 4GB. Isn't flexibility great?

Operating system

Maximum memory support with PAE

Windows 2000 Advanced Server 8 GB of physical RAM
Windows 2000 Datacenter Server 32 GB of physical RAM
Windows XP (all versions) 4 GB of physical RAM*
Windows Server 2003 (and SP1), Standard Edition 4 GB of physical RAM*
Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition 32 GB of physical RAM
Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition 64 GB of physical RAM
Windows Server 2003 SP1, Enterprise Edition 64 GB of physical RAM
Windows Server 2003 SP1, Datacenter Edition 128 GB of physical RAM

facattack
June 3rd, 2014, 11:15 AM
I find that Ubuntu 14 along with WINE loads .exe applications nicely. I"m all set to get rid of WIndows XP on this computer. I recall when I first got Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning it didn't run at all on those "transgaming" services. CrossOver and Cedega...