PDA

View Full Version : 16 bit memory cards id



mikey99
May 26th, 2014, 05:11 PM
I have two 16 bit memory cards I'm trying to get more info on.
I need to find info on the switch settings for these cards.

The first is a Quadram card which has 1.5 MB in 256K chips
1885718858

mikey99
May 26th, 2014, 05:16 PM
The second one is a Cheetah 'Ultra-fast-eight'. I've been searching for a manual but couldn't find
anything online.



188591886018861

jh1523
May 26th, 2014, 06:17 PM
Here's what I could find on the second card. Not sure it's this exact same one as it's not called by name in that article, but gives some information.

http://books.google.com/books?id=pDGnxFyejN4C&pg=PA158&lpg=PA158&dq=%22cheetah+international%22+memory&source=bl&ots=DAUcIg9o37&sig=m5Qy13LOaFqYHj64tY6YZawYszE&hl=en&sa=X&ei=W_WDU6vXIqjgsASBqILgCA&ved=0CEgQ6AEwBg#v=onepage&q=%22cheetah%20international%22%20memory&f=false

OTOH it may not be about your board at all, since that article is from 1986 and your card is 1988, plus if those are 1Mx1 chips that means it can take 8MB, whereas the card in the article went up to 2.5MB only.

SpidersWeb
May 26th, 2014, 06:35 PM
Judging by those 70ns chips in the photo, I suspect it'll do 8Mhz with zero wait states too.

The QuadRam - isn't that 2Mb? 4 x 512KB banks.
Switches are different but it's pretty damn close to the 1985 QuadRam QuadMeg
http://books.google.co.nz/books?id=0diZZaKL2JMC&pg=PA48&lpg=PA48&dq=quadram+quadmeg+at&source=bl&ots=7Q_LKvQ-aO&sig=65KlxJQeeq9TK6hu58IFy9zIcNw&hl=en&sa=X&ei=YfmDU7esBMHHkgWk-YDQAw&ved=0CDkQ6AEwBw#v=onepage&q=quadram%20quadmeg%20at&f=false

No luck with switches either sorry :(

jh1523
May 26th, 2014, 06:45 PM
Yes, I concur the first one is likely a Quadram-AT, no luck finding any details about it.

Little precious information here about the version for PS/2: http://www.atarimagazines.com/compute/issue112/Memory_Expansion_Boards.php

offensive_Jerk
May 27th, 2014, 03:19 AM
Wow, these are even harder to find info on than the Intel Above Board! You digging out the old Memory boards or what?

mikey99
May 27th, 2014, 05:45 AM
Wow, these are even harder to find info on than the Intel Above Board! You digging out the old Memory boards or what?


I got these boards awhile back and they just sat in a box......but after working on the Intel Above board I figured it was time to see if these work :-)

I tried both boards in my AT

The Cheetah prevents the AT from booting......and it must conflict with the video card because there is no video displayed.
I'm thinking it might be related to the 'starting address' switches

The Quadram does give a memory error , so I suspect it might have a bad chip. Will need to look at that and see if I can figure
out which chip is bad.

offensive_Jerk
May 27th, 2014, 09:45 PM
Wow, that Cheetah board looks pretty cool with that LED array on top. I found this, but it doesn't look like your board.

http://books.google.com/books?id=vcqI6sY2e-kC&pg=PA135&lpg=PA135&dq=Cheetah+memory+board&source=bl&ots=5Ya9yUyuMe&sig=bYQxXyLy6fGV5GYgOMt_cfGfgfY&hl=en&sa=X&ei=qnaFU_S8NouvyAS30IDQAw&ved=0CLMBEOgBMA0

This here says "installation requires a setup program" for the Cheetah board. Again, probably not your exact board.

http://books.google.com/books?id=mNYL8b0kUnIC&pg=PA287&lpg=PA287&dq=%22cheetah+international,+inc%22+dip+switch&source=bl&ots=02CQ8CK6Jb&sig=hCdZYff6b622yeVQvR2vG15ZxPA&hl=en&sa=X&ei=5niFU7vzIsS2yASFrYHQDw&ved=0CCkQ6AEwAA


The Cheetah Card comes with a disk inclujding three programs. One of these is CSETUP, which displays large diagrams of the six sets of DIP switches on the board.
Defiantly not your board, but it comes with a program that uses all your base memory so your programs run in the faster high memory. Interesting. I was wondering how the card would make your AT faster if it used the on-board memory with a wait-state. Guess it makes sense that everything would have to run in the upper memory

http://books.google.com/books?id=pDGnxFyejN4C&pg=PA158&lpg=PA158&dq=%22cheetah+international,+inc%22+memory&source=bl&ots=DAUcJg9k_4&sig=kRazSfR4Xtq9t8yUxAC8_2qhHEY&hl=en&sa=X&ei=NnqFU7-WEs-oyAS_iYK4BQ&ved=0CC0Q6AEwAg

mikey99
June 4th, 2014, 03:08 PM
After further investigation, I think the QUADRAM board is called the Quadram Liberty AT
It's similar to the Quadboard AT except the Liberty doesn't have the serial/parallel ports.

However still no luck finding docs for the Quadram Liberty AT

As much money and time that went into designing and producing these boards you would
think the manufacturer's would at least put the product name on the board !
ARGH

mikey99
June 8th, 2014, 10:46 AM
I think the Liberty AT uses the Quadmaster III software drivers.

I found the Quadmaster III manual on modem7's site, but haven't found the software.....

Anyone have a copy of Quadmaster III ?

Malc
June 8th, 2014, 11:40 AM
I have a 5.25 floppy labeled QuadMaster lll Ver. 3.04 with drivers, Can't think what happened to the card i had though, See the "Quadnote.txt" in the attached Zip

HTH

modem7
June 8th, 2014, 04:38 PM
I have a 5.25 floppy labeled QuadMaster lll Ver. 3.04 with drivers,
The version of 3.04 matches the version quoted in my QuadMaster III manual.
I added your software to http://www.minuszerodegrees.net/manuals.htm

mikey99
June 9th, 2014, 08:15 AM
I have a 5.25 floppy labeled QuadMaster lll Ver. 3.04 with drivers, Can't think what happened to the card i had though, See the "Quadnote.txt" in the attached Zip

HTH


Awesome ! Thanks