PDA

View Full Version : General Computer Frustrations!

DoctorPepper
September 5th, 2006, 06:24 AM
Sorry in advance for the long post!

I have been using micro computers since 1982. In that time I have used pretty much every type of computer imaginable (except for a tablet PC). For on-the-go use, probably the best computer I've used was the TRS-80 Model 10x family (100, 102). It didn't have much internal storage capacity (32 KB at best, which gives you 29,638 KB, if you don't have any files on the machine), wasn't the fastest thing in the world, but was almost perfect for what it was designed for: on-the-go writing and data entry. There are still quite a few of these little gems being used on a daily basis. Indeed, they are very hard to kill.

I bring this up because I wish we had a more modern analog of the Model 100. I have used several PDA's, which are usable, but not quite what I want. The whole stylus thing might be Ok for short note taking, but just doesn't cut it if you've got some real writing to do. I have also purchased the little fold-up keyboards that plug in to the PDAs, and while they are better than the stylus, they strike me as a hack, at best. I also purchased (and still use) a QuickPad Pro. This is closer to what I'd like, but it also isn't quite there. No real built-in communications capability, limited capacity of built-in software and fairly difficult file transfer, along with software compatibility issues and no built-in programming language make this unit an also-ran. With a little bit more effort, the folks at QuickPad could have had a real winner.