PDA

View Full Version : Commodore 64 Problems



Corleco
June 21st, 2014, 12:58 PM
I got a C64 with lots of software, but no power supply. I ordered one, but it looks like it was for a VIC-20. So, I plugged in the 64 to a tv, and I got the blue basic screen. I turned it off then on to fix the image (it was static). But instead, I got a black screen with no border. Then, the next day I tried turning it on yet again, and even worse: pure static. So, I opened it up and felt all the chips. All the RAM got very hot, very fast. In 1 minute I tried touching them, and all of them nearly burned me.

So, is this regular for the RAM to get this hot so fast? Or is all my RAM fried?

Thanks

Pet Rescue
June 22nd, 2014, 01:13 AM
Hi Corleco it definitely sounds like your ram is fried and you also could have a bad power supply that has caused the damage.
A Vic 20 supply (New type non two prong) should power a C64 ok but the old brick power supplies are notoriously bad for going faulty especially when they have been on a while. You need to check the output of your supply for 9v ac and 5v dc I forget the pins numbers but a quick google will point you in the right direction.

tezza
June 22nd, 2014, 01:19 AM
One of the members on our New Zealand vintage computer forums detailed a way to check these. I'm sure this info is on the web in a variety of places but anyway, here is his post.
http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/forums/viewtopic.php?p=8453#p8453

Tez

Corleco
June 22nd, 2014, 03:48 AM
Thanks for the help and information. The 9V AC power supply either outputs nothing or way over 9VAC.

Thanks again.

Rehab
July 20th, 2014, 06:00 AM
This might help you if you want to build your Custom Power Supply:

http://rehabhazgui.blogspot.com/2014_06_01_archive.html