PDA

View Full Version : NEC Ready 7022 Issues



tpgb12
July 9th, 2014, 05:24 PM
Hello. I am new to this forum. I am currently having a really big issue with my NEC Ready 7022 Pentium PC. It currently has 8MB of ram. The problem I am having is that whenever I try to install Windows 95 from a CD (the floppy drive in the computer is completely dead), it says it can't find a hard drive (even though the BIOS detects a 1.2 GB HD) and whenever I run FDISK, it says "No fixed disks present". I do not see how the HD could be hooked up incorrectly if the BIOS sees it properly (all of the parameters are correct). The HD in it is a Quantum branded one. The CMOS battery is completely dead, so I have to enter my settings each time I want to use the computer. Does anybody here have a clue what I can do to fix this? I would REALLY appreciate it. Thanks.

orion24
August 4th, 2014, 02:47 PM
Are the onboard IDE controllers enabled?

Chuck(G)
August 4th, 2014, 02:53 PM
Usually, more information will set you free. Is the hard disk an IDE model (what model mumber?) or perhaps a SCSI drive (often, depending on the controller, may not be seen by FDISK).

Stone
August 4th, 2014, 03:20 PM
Try a different drive. If FDISK doesn't see it the drive could be hosed.

tpgb12
September 20th, 2014, 05:18 PM
It's an IDE Hard Drive. I don't know the model number. Also, sorry for taking so long to reply.

tpgb12
September 20th, 2014, 05:19 PM
I don't actually own another drive that matches the one in it now... I need to get another similar drive, soon.

Chuck(G)
September 20th, 2014, 05:48 PM
If you can boot from floppy, try running the attached program just to see what you've got for a drive.

tpgb12
September 21st, 2014, 01:20 PM
If you can boot from floppy, try running the attached program just to see what you've got for a drive.
The floppy drive is completely dead, although I can swap CD's, so I may burn that do a disc sometime and see what happens.

tpgb12
September 24th, 2014, 04:57 PM
If you can boot from floppy, try running the attached program just to see what you've got for a drive.

I just ran it, and it says I have a Quantum Fireball.

Cylinders: 2112
Heads: 16
Sectors/Track: 63
Buffer Size: 83K
Total Sectors: 2128896
Drive Supports DMA
Drive Supports LBA
Drive does not support 8 bit transfers
Firmware Revision: A1M.0900
Model Number: QUANTUMFIREBALL1080A
Serial Number: 341519720288

I also ran another program called PCCHECK, and when I went into the low-level format utitlity, it said "IDE Drive detected. A reserved hard disk type has been detected. Please use setup to correct this problem."

So... if anybody knows what I could use to get the drive working with FDISK, etc. Please let me know. I really want to be able to transfer data onto my Casio Cassiopeia :D.

tpgb12
September 25th, 2014, 12:21 PM
I ran IDESDI, and this is what it printed out in DOS:
An AT controller was found

For ESDI/IDE Drive 8224:
Cylinders:2112
Heads:16
Sectors/Track:63
Buffer Size:83k
Total Sectors: 2128896
Drive Supports DMA
Drive Supports LBA
Drive does not support 8 bit transfers
Firmware Revision: A1M.0900
Model Number: QUANTUM FIREBALL 1080A
Serial Number: 3415197200288

So, is the drive completely dead, or not? I can hear the drive spin up fine, and when I boot with nothing in the CD drive, it does seek to the HD to find an OS, but it obviously doesn't have one on it. If anybody can figure out how I can make the drive useable, please let me know. Thanks.

tpgb12
September 25th, 2014, 02:08 PM
I ran IDESDI, and this is what it printed out in DOS:
An AT controller was found

For ESDI/IDE Drive 8224:
Cylinders:2112
Heads:16
Sectors/Track:63
Buffer Size:83k
Total Sectors: 2128896
Drive Supports DMA
Drive Supports LBA
Drive does not support 8 bit transfers
Firmware Revision: A1M.0900
Model Number: QUANTUM FIREBALL 1080A
Serial Number: 3415197200288

So, is the drive completely dead, or not? I can hear the drive spin up fine, and when I boot with nothing in the CD drive, it does seek to the HD to find an OS, but it obviously doesn't have one on it. If anybody can figure out how I can make the drive useable, please let me know. Thanks.

Ahh! So sorry for the double post... I didn't know I did nearly the same thing twice. :(